Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Font loader from batch files or macros?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic
bluegecko
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Last active: May 02 2011 01:48 AM
This is an amazing forum; fittingly so for the amazing autohotkey. Seeing as you lot appear to be the bees' knees in terms of knowing about obscure apps, I'd like to hazard one request.

Some programs, especially encyclopaedias and dictionaries, need a whole lot of fonts in order to work properly. One program I have in mind installs almost 25! Now, I'm a writer, and I do have my favourite fonts. Thing is, I don't want to have to scroll down through masses of never-to-be-used typefaces in word processor font menus to get to the ones I do use. So, I've been experimenting with tricks to load/unload fonts on a per application basis.

Not as easy as it sounds, as all flavours of Windows are a pain when it comes to installing fonts automatically. The best I've got so far is a combination of a batch file and the Virtual Font Folder program (free; http://www.loseyourmind.com/vff10.asp). The latter watches a user-defined folder – whenever a font gets copied into it, it loads it and broadcasts the change to other apps (so no reboot required). Likewise, whenever a font is removed from the folder, it uninstalls it and broadcasts the change. The combination works well, and would be perfect were it not for Virtual Font Folder being extremely slow: for 25 fonts, it can almost a minute to load them all, and another minute to unload them when I exit the program.

Much quicker would be to open up the required fonts in Windows' own fontview.exe (what you see when you double-click a ttf, otf or pfm font file, or – from a batch file – load shortcuts to each of the required fonts), which has the wonderful effect of instantly loading the fonts and making them available to applications.