Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Send keystrokes to background window?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic
Hardy
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Last active: Feb 13 2005 04:32 PM
Hi,
I'm new to AutoHotkey, it's absolutely great (read about it in German c't magazine). Thanks for this cool piece of software!

Is it possible to send keystrokes to a background window?

Thanks for advice!

Hardy

jonny
  • Members
  • 2951 posts
  • Last active: Feb 24 2008 04:22 AM
Take a look at the ControlSend function. If it doesn't work for you (it most likely will), maybe Rajat can help you out with some SendMessage codes.

• Guests
  • Last active:

ControlSend function. If it doesn't work for you (it most likely will), maybe Rajat can help you out with some SendMessage codes.

Thanks, but
ControlSend, WindowName, Keystroke
or
ControlSend, ahk_class 12345, Keystroke
doesn't do anything on my XP system, neither if my window is in the foreground nor in the background... :?:

Hardy

jonny
  • Members
  • 2951 posts
That's because that's not the correct syntax. Please take a look at the documentation for it. I included the link to it in my previous post, and here I'll include another one:

[link]

Hardy
  • Members
  • 6 posts
:oops: getting already better now:

It's working when the window is in fore- or background but not when it's in the taskbar...
The window should stay in the taskbar when the keystrokes are applied...

Thanks
Hardy

jonny
  • Members
  • 2951 posts
That's strange. Try this code:

settitlematchmode,2

capslock::
controlsend,,Test., - Notepad
return

If CapsLock doesn't send "Test." to Notepad even when it's minimized, it might be a bug and you should report it. If it does, though, the problem probably lies in your script. Could you please post it, so we can help you directly rather than little by little?

Hardy
  • Members
  • 6 posts
Seems to be a bug then.