Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Show/Hide Quick Launch with Middle Click on Start Button


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic
SKAN
  • Administrators
  • 9114 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2005
#IfWinActive ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
~MButton Up::
 MouseGetPos,,,,Ctrl
 IfEqual,Ctrl,Button1, SendMessage, 0x400+237,-1,(ToggleQL := !ToggleQL),,A
Return
#IfWinActive

Tested in XP only!

lilalurl.T32
  • Members
  • 391 posts
  • Last active: Jul 05 2011 03:39 PM
  • Joined: 17 May 2007
Thanks for that and for the other thread about messaging the taskbar.

I'll probably use it simply with a hotkey so that QL becomes a sort of Quick start menu.


[a bit off-topic]
I was thinking of making a sort of extended start menu, by combining the toggle quick launch with a toggle start menu.

Two problems encountered as of now (don't have time to work on them this weekend):
- Ensure that both are synchronized (both hidden/shown at the same time)
- The start menu gets in front so you have to double click the QL icons if you want to use one of them. Not a problem if you have a mouse with an extra button bound to double clicking, but otherwise it is.

Anyway, if some people want to mess around with the idea the show/hide start menu message is, unless I am mistaken, 0x400+260
[/a bit off-topic]
________
Hino Melpha

jabobian
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Last active: Feb 03 2011 03:46 AM
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Seems not work on Windows 7

jabobian
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Last active: Feb 03 2011 03:46 AM
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2010
The following code is simple and easy.
Middle Button Click the place near the system tray.
Adjust the X value to meet your case.
With this script, you can forget the QuickLaunch Disappear bug of Windows 7.

For MI.ahk, please download from Lexikos's post http://www.autohotke...topic21991.html

#Include MI.ahk

#IfWinActive ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd 
~MButton:: 
  MouseGetPos,X,Y,,Ctrl 
  ;MsgBox %Ctrl% %X% %Y%
  ;If (Ctrl = "CireroUIWndFrame1") or (Ctrl ="") or (Ctrl = "TrayShowDesktopButtonWClass1")
  If (X>1000) 
    GoSub ShowQuickLaunchMenu  
return
#IfWinActive

ShowQuickLaunchMenu:
{
  qlDir := A_AppData . "\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch"
  Menu, QL, add,
  Menu, QL, DeleteAll
  Loop, %qlDir%\*.lnk
  {
   FileGetShortcut, %qlDir%\%A_LoopFileName%,OutTarget, OutDir, OutArgs, OutDesc, OutIcon, OutIconNum, OutRunState
   StringReplace, FileName, A_LoopFileName, .lnk, 
   Menu, QL, Add, %FileName%, QLItemClick
   If OutTarget contains .exe
      MI_SetMenuItemIcon("QL", A_Index, OutTarget, 1, 16) 
   else
      MI_SetMenuItemIcon("QL", A_Index, OutIcon, OutIconNum, 16) 
   }
}
MI_ShowMenu("QL",1020, 1000)
return

QLItemClick:
  qlDir := A_AppData . "\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch"
  Run, %qlDir%\%A_thisMenuItem%.lnk
return


  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
SKAN do you know how to make it work in windows 7 ? Button1 doesnt seem to work..

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
when searching the forum, In Vista its suppose to be a window with the title "Start" and class of "button"

But this doesnt work in windows 7..

#IfWinActive Start ahk_class button
~LButton Up::
 MsgBox, TEst
Return
#IfWinActive


  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Never mind. I got some help here:
http://www.autohotke...082.html#449082