Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Multi choice text and grammar correction

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic
stephenmika
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Last active: Mar 16 2011 05:39 PM
I am new to AutoHotkey and whilst I don't want a finished scrip, I would like some guidance as to programming approach I should consider in order to write the Hotkey script to perform the following -

I have over 900 standard phrases many of which have multi-choice options. Firstly there are standard parts of the phrase (preceeded by [*] in the example below) which would always be generated whenever the phrase number Hotkey is entered. Then there are the options (preceeded by letters in brackets [A] to [H] in the example below). If these letters were appended to the phrase number Hotkey then the completed phrase would be produced. Whilst this appears not to difficult, what I also need is some automatic grammer correction.

Firslty, in the example below, if C and D are appended to the phrase number Hotkey, an automatic 'and' is inserted between the two text strings. If C, D and E are inputted, a comma is inserted between C text string and D text string and an 'and' is inserted between D text string and E text string.

Secondly, if F or H is appended to the phrase number Hotkey, an input box automatically pops up, in sequence, ie F first and then H, for freetext to be inserted.

Finally, in some phrases I need to have seperate selectable options for singular and plural choice. In these phrases, it would be great to automatically change the 'is' to an 'are' if more than one option is selected.

Example phrase -

54 [*] There is a [A] covered [B] open air [C] swimming pool [D] tennis court [E] leisure complex [F] ... [G] in the <INSERT TEXT> garden. [H] at the <INSERT TEXT> of the property. [*] No comments can be made on condition.