Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Real Player requires additional components to play video


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic
Benny-D
  • Members
  • 1485 posts
  • Last active: Nov 19 2014 02:53 PM
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2008
I have one MPEG file on my computer that I definitely remember I was able to play on my laptop before it was broken. Now I want t play it on my desktop with "Real Player" (not sure which version, I think it's "Real Player 11", but it's the same as I had on the laptop). Firstly, I get this message:

Real Player needs to download new software to play this clip

when I click on "Okay" I get this:

Real Player requires additional components to play this presentation. Please wait while a software update is located.

And, in a moment, this:

There is no software update available from Real Player to support this content.
Content Type: MPG

How can I solve this problem? I don't want to change the format of the file - I've already tried and noticed that the quality wasn't as good as what I saw on the laptop (by the way, the file is a piece of my home-made video uploaded onto the computer from a digital video camera recorder). Perhaps, I need to download some additional utility or so, I don't know...

And also, why does it say "Content Type: MPG" instead of "Content Type: MPEG" in the last message?

VxE
  • Moderators
  • 3622 posts
  • Last active: Oct 24 2013 04:25 AM
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2006
I had to lol @ this thread. Real Player is among the worst choices for a media player for a variety of reasons.

I use VLC, which is an open source media player (GNU GPL too).

Benny-D
  • Members
  • 1485 posts
  • Last active: Nov 19 2014 02:53 PM
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2008

I had to lol @ this thread. Real Player is among the worst choices for a media player for a variety of reasons.

I use VLC

Sure. I can use other player to play my video, but my point here is why I could use Real Player on my laptop, but can't do the same thing on my desktop - the same video clip and the same version of Real Player! The problem seems to lay not in Real Player, but in my computer.

Krogdor
  • Members
  • 1391 posts
  • Last active: Jun 08 2011 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Most likely you have more codecs installed on your laptop than on your computer.

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
After I installed DivX, RealPlayer started to play more video, like MPEG-4, with .mpg extension, but also .avi files. It finds codecs of other programs.

Krogdor
  • Members
  • 1391 posts
  • Last active: Jun 08 2011 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008

It finds codecs of other programs.


Most video players do. Well, I don't know about one's like VLC that come prepackaged with most codecs anyway, but generally they do. Windows Media Player does as well.

Sean
  • Members
  • 2462 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2012 04:00 AM
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Those are called DirectShow Filters, based on COM. You can use them even inside AHK.
sFile:=	A_WinDir "\clock.avi"

Gui, +LastFound
Gui, Show, w600 h600 Center, Player

COM_Init()
pctl :=	COM_CreateObject(CLSID_FilgraphManager:="{E436EBB3-524F-11CE-9F53-0020AF0BA770}", IID_IMediaControl:="{56A868B1-0AD4-11CE-B03A-0020AF0BA770}")
pwin :=	COM_QueryInterface(pctl, IID_IVideoWindow:="{56A868B4-0AD4-11CE-B03A-0020AF0BA770}")
COM_Invoke(pctl, "RenderFile", sFile)
COM_Invoke(pwin, "Owner", WinExist())
COM_Invoke(pwin, "WindowStyle", 0x44000000)
COM_Invoke(pwin, "SetWindowPosition", 0, 0, 600, 600)
COM_Invoke(pwin, "Visible", -1)
COM_Invoke(pctl, "Run")
Return

GuiClose:
COM_Invoke(pwin, "Visible", 0)
COM_Invoke(pwin, "Owner", 0)
Gui, Destroy
COM_Release(pwin)
COM_Release(pctl)
COM_Term()
ExitApp


Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Sean: Your script just shows me a blank window. What else do I have to do?

BoBo³
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Sean: Your script just shows me a blank window.

4 the records. Works fine for me XP/SP2/AHK 1.0.47.x

Sean
  • Members
  • 2462 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2012 04:00 AM
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2007

Sean: Your script just shows me a blank window. What else do I have to do?

Without any error message being popped up? Which OS? I tested it in XPSP3. What happens with this?
#Persistent

sFile := A_WinDir "\clock.avi"
COM_Init()
pctl := COM_CreateObject(CLSID_FilgraphManager:="{E436EBB3-524F-11CE-9F53-0020AF0BA770}", IID_IMediaControl:="{56A868B1-0AD4-11CE-B03A-0020AF0BA770}")
COM_Invoke(pctl, "RenderFile", sFile)
COM_Invoke(pctl, "Run")


Krogdor
  • Members
  • 1391 posts
  • Last active: Jun 08 2011 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008
I'm not surprised it doesn't work for me, since I'm on Windows 7, but both of the scripts give me the error:

---------------------------
COM Error Notification
---------------------------
Function Name:	"RenderFile"
ERROR:		(0x80040216)
PROG:	
DESC:	
HELP:	,0

ERROR2:	Member not found.

	(0x80020003)

Will Continue?
---------------------------
Yes   No   
---------------------------

Just figured I'd let you know.

Sean
  • Members
  • 2462 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2012 04:00 AM
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2007

Just figured I'd let you know.

Looks like the clock.avi file is missing in A_WinDir in your system. Change sFile to a real multimedia file in your machine.

Krogdor
  • Members
  • 1391 posts
  • Last active: Jun 08 2011 05:31 AM
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Aha. It works!

Your knowledge of everything Windows truly amazes me sometimes, Sean..

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005

Looks like the clock.avi file is missing in A_WinDir in your system.

That's it. In Vista the clock.avi file is missing, too. I did not get any error message, though.

Benny-D
  • Members
  • 1485 posts
  • Last active: Nov 19 2014 02:53 PM
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2008

Those are called DirectShow Filters, based on COM. You can use them even inside AHK.

Sean, is this script supposed to work as a kind of replacement for a codec? Will it work for any player? What's the main function of your script?