Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

Change default print screen resolution


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
Alangar Bangalore
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
How do i change the default print screen resolution by a shortcut...

Or set the resolution when print screen button is hit...

the image resoultion caputred by the default print screen gives me high resolution.

i need a jpeg low resolution image.

please help me...any commands for it ?

Z_Gecko
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Why not change the resolution of the picture afterwards (either with GDI+ or with an external tool like irfanview or imagemagic)?

HotKeyIt
  • Moderators
  • 7071 posts
  • Last active: Today, 07:09 AM
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Check out Screen Capture with Transparent Windows and Mouse Cursor

Alangar Bangalore
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I frequently use this...to copy pitures/doc's screen shots to emails..

It is really a non sense that it occupies 5Mb per screen shot.

i need to caputure the screen shot and reduce the resolution to less (jpg not bmp) and when i paste it, it should occupy less space.

Thanks,

Alangar

Alangar Bangalore
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
i normally print screen certain images/doc's and paste it in outlook

[10] but when i paste them, the total mail size is around 5 mb per image
[10] whyn't change the default image capture resolution to less, so that i dont need to reduce pic's every time i paste it ?
[10] You should just use Evernote. :)
[10] but i work i a bank
[10] no external applications pls


[10] but i am really not interested in capturing a image and then saving it as a file
[10] and then reducing it
[10] normally print screen and paste should paste the image in a less resolution

Z_Gecko
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

10:52] but i am really not interested in capturing a image and then saving it as a file
[10] and then reducing it

Then you will probably have no luck. I never saw an example of in-clipboard image manipulation on this forum.

Alangar Bangalore
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Z_Gecko,
can't we process this image temporarily in a temp file, reduce a resolution and copy the image ?

Will this not work.?

Alan

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Jul 15 2014 12:00 AM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
you can, but it will require an external tool to make the change. Look in the utils section for a command line image resizer, or use imagemagick, which is a command line image resizer...

take the screenshot
save to hard drive
call imagemagick
paste image to document


if you have imagemagick convert the file to a png, it won't be 5MB anymore.

Sean
  • Members
  • 2462 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2012 04:00 AM
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2007
CaptureScreen(0,0,"screen.jpg")

; Convert(0,"screen.jpg") ; save bmp in clipboard to screen.jpg


Alangar Bangalore
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Sean,
but how does this reduce the resolution ?
i need the caputured image in a lower resolution

^F9::
CaptureScreen (0,0,"screen.jpg")
return

CAN U PLS HELP ME

HotKeyIt
  • Moderators
  • 7071 posts
  • Last active: Today, 07:09 AM
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2008
^F9::CaptureScreen("0, 0, " A_ScreenWidth ", " A_ScreenHeight ", 640, 480",0,"screen.png")



engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Jul 15 2014 12:00 AM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
making it a jpg will reduce the file size as much as reducing the resolution. png might even be better.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

How do i change the default print screen resolution by a shortcut...

Or set the resolution when print screen button is hit...

the image resoultion caputred by the default print screen gives me high resolution.

i need a jpeg low resolution image.

please help me...any commands for it ?