Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Launching a script when a specific USB device is connected

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic
rktboy
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Last active: Jan 25 2010 11:14 AM
I realize this topic has been covered but I'm very new to AHK and coding and could use a push in the right direction.

As my subject line indicates, I'm looking to run a script when a specific USB device is connected. In my case, the device being connected is a Sony PSP running a homebrew app called PSPDisp, which allows it to function as a PC monitor. The idea is to have my PC automaticall detect the PSP being connected and to run a program to be displayed on the PSP.

I've already written a script to launch the program but am having trouble with working out how to set it to trigger on connection of the PSP.

Now, I've read through the excellent post by Maestr0 here:

http://www.autohotke...ight=detect usb

It looks like he was attempting to do something similar, albeit with a different device.

From what I understand so far, this script can be used to detect a USB being connected:

OnMessage(0x219, "notify_change") 
Return 

notify_change(wParam, lParam, msg, hwnd) 
{ 
MsgBox, %wParam% %lParam% %msg% %hwnd% 
}

As I understand it, OnMessage looks for a windows message, in this case 0x219 which is a device change message. This script then executes "notify_change" and obtains a number of paramaters and, in this script, displays those parameters in a message box. However, in my own tests, these parameters don't seem to change, regardless of what USB device is plugged in.

Maestr0's "Notifier" Script, which sits resident in the tray, has been modified to the following:

runwait kb_checker.ahk ; -- just in case the keyboard is connected when the script is started 
return 

{ 
   ;outputdebug notify_change(%wParam%, %lParam%, %msg%, %hwnd%) 
   if msg = 537 
      runwait kb_checker.ahk 
}