Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

simple Debug console Output

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic
dorfl68
  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Last active: Sep 03 2013 08:03 PM
As a beginner, I was struggling a lot with debug messages. MSGBOX interrupts the script, TrayTip or similar is slow or only temporary, I was never happy.

The attached extremely short code has two simple functions. Essentially, it creates a console window the first time you send a debug message and traces from there, It's darn fast compared to all the other fancy methods, and it's fully scrollable. When I trace, I routinely have several hundred lines here with no issue.

usage: DebugMessage(text) ; text without line feed

The first time it's called, the console initializes. No check for errors since I assume only developers use it. The console is kept in the background so any check for active window works. Some specific details that you can adapt.

dorfl

DebugMessage(str)
{
 global h_stdout
 DebugConsoleInitialize()  ; start console window if not yet started
 str .= "`n" ; add line feed
 DllCall("WriteFile", "uint", h_Stdout, "uint", &str, "uint", StrLen(str), "uint*", BytesWritten, "uint", NULL) ; write into the console
 WinSet, Bottom,, ahk_id %h_stout%  ; keep console on bottom
}

DebugConsoleInitialize()
{
   global h_Stdout     ; Handle for console
   static is_open = 0  ; toogle whether opened before
   if (is_open = 1)     ; yes, so don't open again
     return

is_open := 1	
   ; two calls to open, no error check (it's debug, so you know what you are doing)
   DllCall("AttachConsole", int, -1, int)
   DllCall("AllocConsole", int)

dllcall("SetConsoleTitle", "str","Paddy Debug Console")    ; Set the name. Example. Probably could use a_scriptname here 
   h_Stdout := DllCall("GetStdHandle", "int", -11) ; get the handle
   WinSet, Bottom,, ahk_id %h_stout%      ; make sure it's on the bottom