Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Verts: Export a window to 3D for analysis [1.4]


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
[*:15fewo2c]Verts v1.4
Download
3D viewer made in AHK:
Download (thanks Uberi!)
(may not work with all graphics cards. for an alternative, read below.)

Notes:
The program can and will create files in the Script Directory.
Tested and works on XPSP3 32Bit using AutoHotkey Basic.

Description:
Help you visualize a programs GUI by plotting out all controls of a window into a 3d space. Each control is a flat plane and each control is on its own "layer" so you can visualize the stack order. The higher up the control is, the higher the z-index the control has.
Also, some windows/programs generate an interesting output. And with some tweaking you could make some interesting 3D game maps or even buildings/structures.

Misc:
Screenshot and instructions using the free 3D model viewing tool: GLC Player
You can load these .obj files in any 3d program that supports the .obj format.

Enjoy.

Change Log:
[color=brown]-v1.4 Fri April 10, 2012[/color]
   Fill option added.
[color=brown]-v1.3 Mon March 19, 2012[/color]
   initial public release.

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


Carcophan
  • Members
  • 1578 posts
  • Last active: Nov 27 2013 06:46 PM
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2008
I can't wait to check this out.

You rock.

kenn
  • Members
  • 407 posts
  • Last active: Jan 14 2015 08:16 PM
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
tidbit Congratulations on your project. Well done! I tested it, it works nice. It can be used in many areas. Can we develop a 3D desktop with this?
My Scripts
Ain’t No Shame in Asking for Help!

tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
kenn and Carcophan, thanks!

I bet you could make a 3D desktop, but I doubt this method would be the best way. unless you can figure out a way to store all the objects in memory and update size and position in real-time.

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Added a 3D viewer made by Uberi made in AHK!
Note: It might not work with your graphics card.

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


JamixZol
  • Members
  • 54 posts
  • Last active: Jan 22 2014 04:35 AM
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2012
This is VERY COOL, this could be used to make some impressive user manuals for apps. Excellent work!
My code is built and tested for: AutoHotkey_L
Tools:Notify()Builder Dropiler
Libs:RFN Achieve
sಠಠn

tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Thanks, JamixZol! and welcome to the forums.

That's a pretty cool idea.

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


fragman
  • Members
  • 1591 posts
  • Last active: Nov 12 2012 08:51 PM
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2009
I think I mentioned this before, how about a fill color that fills the part under the floating controls so it looks like the background? This would make the image look less complex and more elegant I think.

JamixZol
  • Members
  • 54 posts
  • Last active: Jan 22 2014 04:35 AM
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Thanks tidbit :)

You may be on to something there fragman, I use Pic backgrounds on most of my GUIs for the polish it gives them. It would be cool to either use fill as you say, or map the background image as a flat image to the main window, or maybe... like if no pic control found, map a generic image to the obj where the main window is (like a single grey pixel map). I had intended to remap the obj this way in something like blender for the documentation renders for what I was intending to use this for. Another good approach to this may be something like feeding Verts a script file that it can parse out GUI elements to generate a full schematic including hidden and on tab controls. At any rate, this is some very impressive work tidbit, I appreciate you sharing with us :D
My code is built and tested for: AutoHotkey_L
Tools:Notify()Builder Dropiler
Libs:RFN Achieve
sಠಠn

tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
sadly guys, I don't follow you :oops:
can you explain or give a screenshot of what you mean?

btw, the very bottom plane (base window) is a screenshot of he whole program.

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .


fragman
  • Members
  • 1591 posts
  • Last active: Nov 12 2012 08:51 PM
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2009

btw, the very bottom plane (base window) is a screenshot of he whole program.

I suggest that you provide an option to fill the area of all controls on the bottom plane with a color.

JamixZol
  • Members
  • 54 posts
  • Last active: Jan 22 2014 04:35 AM
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Right, so as to draw a solid color rect over the working area of the gui, then use the original screencap to generate the controls floating out from it.
This would look something like this:
Original cap:
Posted Image
Current output:
Posted Image
Proposed output with rect:
Posted Image
The idea of feeding it a gui script too would be like: fileselectfile, then parse out the gui elements and render them in temporary guis to get screencaps of them, then use those to generate the obj.
My code is built and tested for: AutoHotkey_L
Tools:Notify()Builder Dropiler
Libs:RFN Achieve
sಠಠn

tidbit
  • Administrators
  • 2709 posts
  • Hates playing Janitor
  • Last active: Jan 15 2016 11:37 PM
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Updated, 1.4.
Added an option to add a fell color for the base window.

I got a new pc with win7 64bit and some things seem to be a little buggier. Such as the newly added feature. I'll work out the kinks.

edit: figured out why the Fill is sometimes off. Win7 Aero. sysget isn't detecting the right border width. Anyone got a function? :O

rawr. be very afraid
*poke*
. Populate the AutoHotkey city. Pointless but somewhat fun. .