Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

is AHK what I should use for Morse Code


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Hi All.
Just seeking advice. We currently use the MS Word F3 AutoComplete for our 8yo with disabilities to type in Morse Code using a USB Switch Interface box (so you can assign keystrokes to buttons he can press with his feet).

Wondering if AHK would be a better option and therefore work in more programs than being limited to MS Word.

Currently we have codes set up using the * as the dot and ~ as the dash the [F3] activates the auto-complete. We then have morse shortcuts for words programmed in eg "ab" or "*~~***[F3]" enters "about" "mm" or "~~~~[F3]" enters his name "Mac Burns"

It is only a work around using MS Word as we haven't been able to find a 3 switch morse option needed to remove timing issues for our son.

Just wanted some insights from those using it to see if you think I am on the right track before I head down this path.

Thanks for your assistance.

Regards
Gina
<!-- m -->http://inkyed.wordpress.com<!-- m -->

4lex
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Last active: Apr 10 2012 11:29 PM
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2012
I would say certainly AHK will offer you some considerable functionality gains across any application. I'm not absolutely clear on what you're looking for, but ahk, has for example, the ability to turn ... into s irrespective of the time between the dot keypresses.
The code is as simple as
::...::s
which will then universally translate ... into s in any application. You could have a simple hotkey to enable/disable the morse translator, say ctrl+shift+m, which you would express as ^+m
But in answer to your question, yes, I would say, you're on the right track.

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Thanks 4lex

Basically it is to provide greater functionality. Mac can manage typing in morse and also visual and auditory scanning using his switches so its working out how to get the best out of each option to provide him the most productive options- his physicality is the problem being severely physically affected by CP.

Essentially I envisage him working in different modes eg Morse General, Morse NumLock, Switch Scanning, Mouse Moves/Computer Commands all the while managing all actions with a combination of 2 & 3 switches. While he uses two foot switches at the moment and we tend to control the third for him we are trying to shift him to a 'head array' situation with switches so he can jump up to controlling 3 on his own.

Thanks for giving me the 'go ahead' - appreciate it... time to embrace a steep learning curve for me... sweet!

Gina

4lex
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Last active: Apr 10 2012 11:29 PM
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2012
Good luck. The help file is very detailed, and the forum an excellent resource.

dmg
  • Members
  • 2395 posts
  • Last active: Nov 04 2015 06:46 AM
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2010
Greetings InkyEd. Welcome to the forum!

AHk should definitely do what you need. This may not be any help to you, but I know of an existing Morse code program written in AHk: <!-- m -->http://sector-seven....are/morserabbit<!-- m -->
Since the source code is provided it may serve as an example to work from in your project. :)
"My dear Mr Gyrth, I am never more serious than when I am joking."
~Albert Campion

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Website | Demo scripts | Blog | External contact

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
thanks DMG - haven't found that one before, looks great.

appreciate the support.

Gina

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
so in the quick reads I have done I have been thinking about some of the codes and know I need to be wary of them eg making sure an "s" comes out as an "s" and not "eee"
e = .
i = ..
s = ...
h = ....

Would the best way be to use the ? option to allow it to occur within another word and then O option to omit the ending character so that it is literally just the letter

eg to type "his" once you have the "h" it would be :?O:..:: to give an "hi" then :?O:...:: to give "his"

The other which I haven't quite got my head around yet would be the Z recognizer option to allow for similar codes to occur without turning into the first code typed.

I am thinking the [space] is likely my best ending character so that it can be used as a space between words to speed up writing options.

thx Just want to make sure I am on the right track as I continue to think about this and make sure I don't stuff it up from the start.
Gina :?

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
For reference:

Morse CODE, version 1
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...topic16951.html<!-- m -->

Morse CODE, version 2 (combine long & short key presses, dubbed Mayan)
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...pic.php?t=72535<!-- m -->

RapidHotkey()
Using this function you can send keystrokes or launch a Label by pressing a key several times.
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...pic.php?t=38795<!-- m -->

4lex
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Last active: Apr 10 2012 11:29 PM
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2012
As you suggest a delimiter of some sort will be easiest, but with just two switches I guess you'd have to go left->dot right->dash and both together->space. I haven't really thought this through, but I wonder if the switches would be best mapped to characters rarely found at the end of words as a workaround, say q & v - then you could map the string q[space] and qq[space] as distinct e and i, or maybe experiment with [space]q[space] etc. Other than that, is an analogue type of controller potentially any use? I'm thinking of the pedals from a driving game potentially from which you could easily differentiate between partial and full depression to give extra input options?

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
4lex the switches in MS Word are currently mapped to the * and the ~ to get as close to a visual for Mac as possible and as least likely to occur together. We used to do "o" and "l" but it just got confusing (for me more so than him) LOL.

Yep, you are right his left foot is his "dot" and right his "dash". At the moment he uses a Crick USB interface which allows you to map different keystrokes/mouse moves depending on the program you are in. There are likely better products out there that aren't 'disability centric' and I will keep looking at what options might be available. There is bluetooth option from the music industry and they have advised they can program four profiles of four switch/keystrokes into their device for me when I decide on my preferred keystroke mapping.

The third switch will likely be located behind his head or under his chin - still experimenting there, hard work and since it is school holidays here he has told me he needs some 'days off' :wink:

The only other idea I had re the Dash keystroke was to maybe use something like "\" and then if the AHK codes can keep the shift key down for numbers I could use "|" or look at some options with an Alt keyboard key so that you could emulate a numberlock situation. That way he could use the shorter morse code numbers which are only one or two presses rather than the standard which are five presses each.

Thanks again for the feedback.
Gina

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012

For reference:

Morse CODE, version 1
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...topic16951.html<!-- m -->

Morse CODE, version 2 (combine long & short key presses, dubbed Mayan)
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...pic.php?t=72535<!-- m -->

RapidHotkey()
Using this function you can send keystrokes or launch a Label by pressing a key several times.
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...pic.php?t=38795<!-- m -->


Thank you. When I searched for Morse the Mayan posts came up but not this one. Fantastic, appreciate it.

Gina

Elesar
  • Members
  • 696 posts
  • Last active: May 08 2015 09:51 PM
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Not sure how much it will help, but here is a script that I use to interface with my Arduino board.
It includes a function to translate text into Morse Code then outputs it via an LED on the board. Maybe you will find some of it useful.

<!-- m -->https://ahknet.autoh...pts/GUI-LED.ahk<!-- m -->

InkyEd
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2012 12:47 AM
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Thanks Elesar.

Wow, that is not something I should start trying to work through at 1am but will get back to it.

Cheers
Gina
Australia