Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

automatically saving WLM drafts (windows live mail)

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
me4646
  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Last active: Apr 19 2012 09:18 PM
Hello,
I am a total newbie to AHK; I am looking for a way to automatically save WLM (2009) drafts every minute. It should interfere in no way, i.e. there should be no problems when it autosaves whilst one is typing or whilst one is navigating in sub-windows like e.g. spellcheck or search etc. It should also be able to detect the correct window (class:ATH_Note program:C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Mail\wlmail.exe). (The title of the windows changes with the email subject.)

I searched this forum but did not find anything the like, which I found strange since this should to be a frequent need imho... I am a bit fearful doing this myself since I have no experience what I need to take into account. If anyone found this idea useful and would be willing to help or comment to this idea, I'd be really be happy. If it's difficult to implement, I'd be willing to paypal a small amount as a thank you... I really want to keep WLM for various reasons, it's quite good actually.

oh... and it would be nice if it saved a draft also when the window is not active or minimized.

janopn
  • Members
  • 694 posts
  • Last active: Apr 11 2014 08:22 PM
Hi!
There are at least 2 ways.
Does it saves when you hit ctrl+s? If so, just.set a timer with a 1000ms delay that sends ctrl+s.
But that wont work if app is minimized. The bestway should be this:
Use PROCESS command to check wlmail.exe exists. If so, use CONTROLCLICK command to click the save button. To get the clasNN of the button, use windowspy.
All that inside a timer.
That should work even if app is minimized.

Leef_me
  • Moderators
  • 8114 posts
  • Last active: Today, 02:57 PM
Hi me4646,
It took longer than I thought to write & test a script.