Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

problem remapping key in cygwin and putty


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
autohotkeyforum
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Last active: Oct 18 2006 12:28 PM
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Hi folks,

I have the problem that I like to use autokey to remap some keys on a keyboard, so that they fit to a preferenced keyboard layout.

Insert::Delete
Delete::Home
Home::Insert

I have the Problem the pressing the home-key which should result in pressing the insert-key only print ~ to the window. The same effect I have with pressing the insert key only print ~ to the window instead of deleting a character. :(

Presseing the delete key work fine :D and produce the home-key

Thanks for any help
autohotkeyforum

Greg
  • Members
  • 245 posts
  • Last active: Jun 02 2006 05:39 PM
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2005
While I don't understand why the AHK forum would need to ask any questions, I will attempt to answer the question.

$Insert::Delete 
$Delete::Home 
$Home::Insert

Perhaps you can choose another username?

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
I don't think adding $ will help, since remapping ignores those.

If you want to remap these keys permanently, you might consider using the registry. That might be a more complete remapping that solves the incompatibilities you mentioned. I can post the details if you want them.

autohotkeyforum
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Last active: Oct 18 2006 12:28 PM
  • Joined: 06 Apr 2006

I don't think adding $ will help, since remapping ignores those.

You're right, the $ does not change anything


If you want to remap these keys permanently, you might consider using the registry. That might be a more complete remapping that solves the incompatibilities you mentioned. I can post the details if you want them.

Please post the info so that I can try that way.

Thanks
autohotkeyforum

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Note: remapping via the registry requires Windows NT4/2000/XP or later.

Steps:
1) Save the following as Remap.reg or similar.
2) Launch the file to put this info into the registry.
3) Reboot for the changes to take effect.
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]

"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
; BE SURE TO UPDATE THE COUNT BELOW TO REFLECT THE TOTAL NUMBER OF REMAPS + 1 (and write it as hexadecimal, not decimal)
; (1 extra for the null terminator):
; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
04,00,00,00,\
; 01. Delete sent in place of Insert:
53,E0,52,E0,\
; 02. Home sent in place of Delete:
47,E0,53,E0,\
; 03. Insert sent in place of Home:
52,E0,47,E0,\
; 04. Null Terminator -- be sure to change the count at the top to reflect this number.
00,00,00,00
How to Customize the Above: The numbers above are the last two digits of the key's scan code as shown on AutoHotkey's Key History screen. However, all the E0's are different: an E0 is present when AutoHotkey's scan code has a first digit of 1. By contrast, 00 is present when the first digit is 0 (doesn't apply in this particular example).

To return to your original layout, you can clear or delete the "Scancode Map" item in the above registry location (then reboot).

looka
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Last active: Apr 15 2008 11:01 AM
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2007
so, if i look at the key history, my play/pause button gives 122. if i press G, it gives me 022.

if i want to remap play/pause, i just have to write 22 - it will rename only x22, when x is 1?

thanks!

UnHoly
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
How to remap Media Select(E0_6D) to open C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winamp.exe instead of default Windows Media Player???

Dogway
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Last active: Nov 02 2014 02:56 AM
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2012

Bump.

Instead of switching keys, how can I make SCN122 (Play/Pause key) to invoke a program?