Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Object Programming for Old Time Programmers - Using Tight Object coding for toggling Icon Buttons in a Window

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic
RalphaelNinja
  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Last active: Jul 24 2013 09:04 PM

I am one of the original old time programmers that has roots in cobol, APL, turbo pascal and assembler with solid background in working with linux and much more, and even though I am no newbie when it came to AutoHotkey, I was floored by the latest version which included Objects.... 

One of the flaws as well as one of the strengths of AutoHotKey is the lackadaisical syntax of its programming language; It is worse then the spaghetti coding we did back in late 70s and early 80s. It is this lackadaisical strength of AHK that you can almost tease the program into doing the impossible with just a bit of imagination.

However this strength which is also AHK flaws, creates a torturous time for the old programmers who are hard coded in structures, pointers and variable types.

I spent the last two days researching the creation of objects in order to incorporate them into my latest project. At the moment I have been hard coding statements like

if control = static1  

{

do something with button 1

}

else

if control = static2

{

do something with button 2

}

I knew that objects and associative arrays would probably simplified the hard coding of the if then statements by using the control to index into an array, but nobody talked about creating an array of objects. Everyone talked about objects and there were numerous youtube tutorials on a single object and the relationship of that one object to its color, shape and size, but not on a collections.