Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

script to fullscreen any app?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic
mackal2
  • Guests
  • Last active:
Hi all,

I am fairly sure that AHK can do this, but being an AHK newbie, I don't really know where to start, let alone know what the best way to do this is. What I want is to create a key combination that will allow me to maximize the currently active application so that it appears in fullscreen; that is, you only see the client area of the window, with the window title bar, borders, etc, hidden, and the taskbar out of view. Essentially I am trying to achieve the effect of apps such as Dark Room (http://they.misled.us/dark-room), but with an arbitrary application---well, I specifically want to replicate this effect with my favourite text editor, Vim...

Any help in getting the ball rolling would be greatly appreciated.

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
You can maximize windows pretty easily with WinMaximize or WinMove.
But it is more difficult to make a window bigger then the screen resolution. (Try to drag a window larger then it, by moving it first partly out of the screen to the lower right, then drag it bigger. It stops to get bigger at around screen resolution.)
Best solution would be to serach if that app supports full screen mode. Like F11 in Internet Explorer.
At the end you could try to use WinSet. Either hide parts of the window, but I'm not sure if you can then make the window larger. Or by sending Style,N or ExStyle,N. Maybe there is a Style that does what you want.
Ciao
toralf

I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

Helpy
  • Guests
  • Last active:
You can WinMove to get the title bar and borders out of screen.
Example, with semi-random offsets:
Run Notepad.exe, , , npPID
WinWait ahk_pid %npPID%