Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Auto check forum updates


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
Jag02
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Last active: Feb 15 2010 08:46 AM
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2008
The website I am talking about is one that has no Rss feeds.
I would like the computer to beep if new messages are posted in the forum. Also I want a message box to pop up and you have to push a button to close it before you can continue using the computer.

Please could you write a script that will do that. I am not very good at programming.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
you can use yahoo pipes service and code a rss feed for it

Jag02
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Last active: Feb 15 2010 08:46 AM
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2008
What do you mean by "yahoo pipes service and code a rss feed for it" ?

vahju
  • Members
  • 337 posts
  • Last active: Sep 21 2014 03:52 AM
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Hope this helps.

<!-- m -->http://pipes.yahoo.com/<!-- m -->

a buddy
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

The website I am talking about is one that has no Rss feeds.
I would like the computer to beep if new messages are posted in the forum. Also I want a message box to pop up and you have to push a button to close it before you can continue using the computer.

Please could you write a script that will do that. I am not very good at programming.

#SingleInstance, force
#Persistent

URL = www.somesite.com		; put your url address here
urlDataFile = %A_Temp%\urlTEMPfile.txt
SetTimer, CheckChange, 30000	;check for change every 30 seconds
return

CheckChange:
  UrlDownLoadToFile, %URL%, %urlDataFile%
  FileRead, newURLdata, %urlDataFile%
  if (newURLdata != oldURLdata) {
    MsgBox, %URL% has changed. New data is:`n%newURLdata%
    oldURLdata := newURLdata
  }
  return
If you really want "you have to push a button to close it before you can continue using the computer", replace the msgbox line in the above code with this:
MsgBox,4096,, %URL% has changed. New data is:`n%newURLdata%


a buddy
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
An enhanced version of my previous script.
#SingleInstance, force
#Persistent

URL = http://portableapps.com/forums/development/portable_app_development	; put your url address here
;URL = http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/forum-1.html	; put your url address here
;URL = http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/Variables.htm	; put your url address here
urlDataFile = %A_Temp%\urlTEMPfile.txt
OnExit, CleanUP								; delete temp file on script exit
UrlDownLoadToFile, %URL%, %urlDataFile%		; get a copy of url data to compare against
FileRead, oldURLdata, %urlDataFile%
SetTimer, CheckChange, 30000	;check for change every 30 seconds
return

CheckChange:
  UrlDownLoadToFile, %URL%, %urlDataFile%
  FileRead, newURLdata, %urlDataFile%
  if (newURLdata != oldURLdata) {
    MsgBox, %URL% has changed.
;	MsgBox New data is:`n%newURLdata%		; uncomment this line if you want to see the new data in a message box
    oldURLdata := newURLdata
  }
  return

CleanUp:
  FileDelete, %urlDataFile%
  exitapp


When testing the below script, I notice that if you enter an AHK forum url, there are frequent changes detected that do no appear on the screen (although it does settle down after a while).
Investigating that, apparently some html format code changes - I don't know why. If you enter a web page or the portable-apps forum (as setup in the script) it works well.

Jag02
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Last active: Feb 15 2010 08:46 AM
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Your scripts are not working.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Your scripts are not working.

What is not working.

I tested the above code and it works well. I used URL = URL = <!-- m -->http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/<!-- m --> and everytime anything on the page changed (current time, anything in stats area, or any of the sub-forum summeries) the change was detected.

BoBo²
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Please could you write a script that will do that. I am not very good at programming.

"Your scripts are not working for me." That's something different. In 9 of 10 cases the error is sitting in front of the screen. How you can prove that it's definitely the script that isn't working - if you're 'not good at programming'?

Jag02
  • Members
  • 44 posts
  • Last active: Feb 15 2010 08:46 AM
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2008
I don't want script to check for time or anything else.
I just want it to check for new messages in the forum e.g <!-- w -->www.autohotkey.com/forum/<!-- w -->

garry
  • Spam Officer
  • 3219 posts
  • Last active: Sep 20 2018 02:47 PM
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2005
rss for autohotkey forum
<!-- m -->http://www.autohotke...topic16528.html<!-- m -->

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

I don't want script to check for time or anything else.
I just want it to check for new messages in the forum e.g <!-- w -->www.autohotkey.com/forum/<!-- w -->

Think about what you are asking. You want to compare the content of the page from one sample to the next, while filtering out what you are not interested in (in addition to html stuff). In any case it would be very site specific (depending on the forum software, etc).
That is a significant (even major) software task. IMHO, someone writing this for you isn't going to happen.
If you want to get 'good at programming' the code posted by a buddy gives you two variables containing the page samples - all you have to do is just filter it. Open the help file and start learning programming.

Tomtom
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Use a Firefox extension: http://www.iopus.com/iMacros/firefox/

Its kind of like AHK for the browser :D

=> Write a short macro that checks on the website