Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

filemenus a la PowerPro

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic
thomasl
  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Last active: Sep 28 2006 09:55 AM
Here is my quick and dirty attempt to emulate the filemenu feature of PowerPro. I rely heavily on these menus so this was high priority and I am glad that AutoHotkey actually can do it.

Error checking is minimal; functionality also: it's bare bones but it does the job. I would like to get rid of the ActivateMenu stuff, as that's a clumsy way of activating the correct menu; however I am not sure how. I would need to be able to connect a hotkey, not with a label, but with an action, in this case a Menu, ..., Show command. That would be a nice addition.

Comments are welcome, especially about getting the thing smaller or more efficient: I am new to AutoHotkey's script language, so if you spot something dreadful tell me. If OTOH you like the script, tell your neighbour.

Suggestions are welcome as well; perhaps this can be coaxed into doing more than just sending keys. I might put in a bit of work if it seems worthwhile.

The script reads a file called Filemenu.txt, whose format is described further down. This file contains the menu definition(s); you can define as many menus as you want (or rather as you have hotkeys). Don't forget to separate menuname and hotkey with a real tab and also menu entries and keys to send: no tabs, no fun.

If you use the Filemenu.txt as it is shown further down, have a window active that accepts more than one line of input before you press #1 and pick a menu option.

--- cut here for Filemenu.ahk ---
;Filemenu.ahk
k=0
Loop, Read, Filemenu.txt
{
  szLine=%A_LoopReadLine%
  If (szLine="")
    Continue
  If (InStr(szLine,"menu:")=1) ; new menu definition?
  {
    StringTrimLeft, szName, szLine, 5 ; get rid of menu: