Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Icon Viewer v6 + Lite v2


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic
toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005
I always had trouble to get the ID of an icon from a file. So I wrote this viewer (the idea for it I got from the AutoIt3 page).

Below is a lite version as Titan and AGU suggested.

Icon Viewer v5:
Posted Image

Icon Viewer Lite v1:
Posted Image

Feedback is highly appreciated. Thanks

Sourcecode:
Icon Viewer v6
Icon Viewer Lite v2

both require Anchor 3.3
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

AGU
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Hmm, the script doesn't do anything on my Windows2000 SP4 system. Does it require Admin rights?

I pick the path C:\WinNT\system32 and push scan but nothing happens. I also tried it with other folders. Nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005
I don't know what is happening. I have tested it on two PCs (both Win XP with AHL 1.0.36.01 & .02). What version of AHK are you using?

When you select Scan, the button should turn deactive during scan. When the scan is finished the buttons come back to active. So you can tell how long it scaned.

During Scan it loops over all files in that folder (exe, dll, ico, ani, cpl) and checks if they contain icons. Only the once with icons are put into the list.

Maybe you have to check the recursive checkbox.

Edit: It doesn't require admin rights, since I do not have them on one of the PCs.
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Also on Win2kSP4, the button is disabled for a while, so it seems to be scanning, but no results are shown...

Not-logged-in-daonlyfreez

AGU
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Ok I see. After updating to 1.0.36.02 (from 1.0.36.01) it worked. Looks nice. :D

Would it be possible to provide some kind of "Stop Scanning" button that stops the reading loop and lists all icons he found so far? Cause the scanning of my system32 directory takes quite some time.

The standard installation path under windows 2000 is C:\WINNT not C:\Windows as in XP. Therefore I always have to change the given path C:\Windows\system32 to C:\WinNT\system32. Wouldn't it be possible to make use of A_Windir to provide a standard path refering to the users os?

S.th like %A_index%\system32

AGU
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Of course I meant %A_Windir%/system32. Sorry for that A_Index mistake.

Chris
  • Administrators
  • 10727 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2004
First of all, great script! It's a great icon browser that makes it easy to discover all sorts of nice system icons.

You might want to do SetBatchLines -1 for this script since that should speed up file-scanning and loading.

Minor point: When you generate the AHK command for ImageList, you do not need the quotes around the number: IL_Add(ImageListID, "C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmmon32.exe" , "1"). In general, numbers don't need to be quoted within function calls.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful script. This or one of its successors should probably be added to the Script Showcase (when you're ready and if you wish).

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005

Of course I meant %A_Windir%/system32. Sorry for that A_Index mistake.


Hi AGU, I added A_WinDir two hours before your request to the above code. I know, it is difficult to see, since I only mentioned it below the code. Sorry for that.
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005

[...]
You might want to do SetBatchLines -1 for this script since that should speed up file-scanning and loading.

[...]
In general, numbers don't need to be quoted within function calls.

[...]This or one of its successors should probably be added to the Script Showcase (when you're ready and if you wish).


Thanks, I'll let you know when it is ready. I want it to be out in the wild for some time to get feedback first.

I'll implement the above improvements soon. Plus the break of the Scanning as AGU requested.
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005
I updates the first post. It includes all the suggestions I got from you and some more. Thanks again for the feedback.
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

lazy-daonlyfreez
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
8) Yet another update, I missed it :p

Now it works fine, thank you toralf!

Not-logged-in-daonlyfreez

toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005
I updated the script in the first post.
Needs AHK 1.0.36.03
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

polyethene
  • Members
  • 5519 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2015 06:39 AM
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2012
Wow it's impressive. I like the way you've made different view modes and the ability to scan a folder for icons - could there be a way to select a dll (in a fileselectfile) to see it's icons only aswell?

autohotkey.com/net Site Manager

 

Contact me by email (polyethene at autohotkey.net) or message tidbit


toralf
  • Moderators
  • 4035 posts
  • Last active: Aug 20 2014 04:23 PM
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Hi Titan, currently not.
But maybe you can suggest a nice little mod.
If I find time I'll think about it.
Ciao
toralf
 
I use the latest AHK version (1.1.15+)
Please ask questions in forum on ahkscript.org. Why?
For online reference please use these Docs.

AGU
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
When pressing Scan the button changes to "STOP"
But this STOP is too long for the button in my GUI. STOP gets linebreaked.

Could there be some kind of view mode where you can see all icons in a folder? Because now you have to click an exe to see all icons it contains.

It would be nice, if you'll have a view mode that lists all icons in one listview.
S.th like this.

Exe1Icon1 Exe1Icon2 Exe1Icon3 Dll1Icon1 Dll1Icon2 ...

Understand?