Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

PostMessage /Controlsend and minimized (game) window

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic
karmadude
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Last active: Jul 21 2004 05:18 PM
I apologize if my questions are rather obtuse but I am rather new to the whole scripting thing in general, and only recently learned of AHK after researching AutoIT.

I know most of you employ AHK for far more respectable tasks, but I am interested in finding a way to utilize it to send keystrokes to a minimized window of a game I play called EverQuest.

I performed many searches and saw some previous posts about games such as ShadowBane, Starcraft, etc. etc. but have not found anyone seeking EQ related support, but the purpose of the script I want to write is very basic.

I have tested and found that the SEND command DOES work and will send keystrokes to the game window when it is active. However, I cannot seem to get Controlsend to function correctly. I am unsure if I am simply not identifying the window adequetely or if the game won't allow input in this manner.

I downloaded Winspector and checked the window messages while running my Controlsend script that sent a few characters to the EQ window and it does appear that the window was receiving some messages such as WM_KEYDOWN, WM_CHAR, and WM_KEYUP, etc. but the text didn't appear to make it to the game as it should have. Perhaps the control that allowed text simply wasn't "topmost", but I also tried using the ahk_parent parameter to no affect.