Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Computer usage analysis

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
hamoid
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Last active: Nov 06 2006 10:45 AM
Hello,

I want to share what I did today with AHK, maybe someone finds it interesting.

I've been using a program called Smart Worktime Tracker for two years. I bought this program, but the development stopped long time ago. Some important features were missing. This program allows you to track time of projects, so you know how many minutes you used every day on each project and application.

I decided to try something like this myself, using AHK. The idea is to record application names and window titles at certain interval. In my case, every 5 seconds I write this information in a file with a small script. I also added tracking of key and mouse presses, so we have an indication of how intensely we used the computer.

The small script is like this:
#Persistent
SetTimer, WatchActiveWindow, 5000

Loop
{
 ; !! the next 5 lines should be one very long, modified for readability
  Input myk, L1 V, {ScrollLock}{CapsLock}{NumLock}{TAB}
{Esc}{BS}{Enter}{PrintScreen}{Pause}{LControl}{RControl}
{LAlt}{RAlt}{LShift}{RShift}{LWin}{RWin}{F1}{F2}{F3}{F4}
{F5}{F6}{F7}{F8}{F9}{F10}{F11}{F12}{Left}{Right}{Up}
{Down}{Home}{End}{PgUp}{PgDn}{Del}{Ins}
  KC++
}

; end of auto execute section
return

WatchActiveWindow:
WinGetTitle, Title, A
WinGet, pname, ProcessName, A
line = %A_now%¬%pname%¬%Title%¬%KC%
StringReplace, line, line, `n, %A_SPACE%, All
StringReplace, line, line, `r, , All
FileAppend, %line%`n, C:\work.log
KC=
return

~*LButton::
~*RButton::
   KC++
return
The result is a file called work.log, with lines like this:
20051211192135¬SciTE.exe¬c:\work0.log - SciTE [2 of 2]¬
20051211192140¬SciTE.exe¬c:\work0.log - SciTE [2 of 2]¬67
20051211192145¬SciTE.exe¬c:\work0.log - SciTE [2 of 2]¬126