Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Basic Ahk_L COM Tutorial for Excel

• Please log in to reply
227 replies to this topic
Mickers
  • Members
  • 1239 posts
  • Last active: Sep 25 2015 03:03 PM
I see a lot of questions in the forums on Excel sheets and how to pull or send data to them. Although there are plenty of posts on the forum with examples for almost any task, most of them written in basic, I thought it would be a good idea to put as many as I have had personal experience with in one place.

I am by no means an expert at COM or Excel but I do my best. :)

Q: What is COM?
The Component Object Model is a collection of automation objects that allows a user to interface with various methods and properties of an application.

Q: How do I use it in my script?
There is no easy answer to this question. Why? Because there are different commands to every type of COM object. For instance the methods for Internet Explorer are completely different from MS Office.

In this tutorial I will focus on using COM to script simple commands that will be used to automate Microsoft Office Excel. Before you can do anything with the Excel DOM you have to create a handle to the application. There are 2 ways to do this:
Xl := ComObjCreate("Excel.Application") ;create a handle to a new excel application
Xl := ComObjActive("Excel.Application") ;creates a handle to your currently active excel sheet
Use one or the other depending on what kind of script you wish to put together. For example if I'm testing new excel code I like to use the active COM object so I don't have to wait on a new instance to open each time.

Let's look at each type individually:
ComObjCreate:
Xl := ComObjCreate("Excel.Application") ;handle
Xl.Visible := True ;by default excel sheets are invisible
Xl.Workbooks.Add ;add a new workbook