Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

Multiple Virtual Desktops


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic
Superfraggle
  • Members
  • 1019 posts
  • Last active: Sep 25 2011 01:06 AM
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Microsoft (sysinternals) have released a new multiple desktop manager available here

This is nothing special, however what is interesting because of the way it works, spawning multiple explorer.exe instances it allows you to have several different AHK scripts running across the desktops, and utilising the same keys on each desktop. (I have quickly tested this, but seems to work ok)

For example on desktop you could press g and open google, however on desktop 2 you could press g and open something else instead.........

Also unlike other virtual desktop programs I ahve seen, if you run a program which utilises the systray, the icon stays on the appropriate desktop.
Steve F AKA Superfraggle

http://r.yuwie.com/superfraggle

Serenity
  • Members
  • 1271 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2004
This is great, only 62KB! I would like the option of a persistent tray though. Also, it seems I can only have one instance of TaskManager, and if I open it in desktop 2-4 it only shows in desktop 1.
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." - Mae West
Posted Image

Slanter
  • Members
  • 739 posts
  • Last active: Jul 08 2011 05:26 AM
  • Joined: 28 May 2008
This is pretty cool, only thing I wish it could do that it can't is move windows between desktops.

Nice find :D
Unless otherwise stated, all code is untested

(\__/) This is Bunny.
(='.'=) Cut, copy, and paste bunny onto your sig.
(")_(") Help Bunny gain World Domination.

Serenity
  • Members
  • 1271 posts
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2004
It seems to use alot of memory, on 2k the three new instances of Explorer use ~22MB each. Without it running my single instance uses ~7MB normally. It's much faster at switching compared to VirtuaWin though.
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." - Mae West
Posted Image

Sean
  • Members
  • 2462 posts
  • Last active: Feb 07 2012 04:00 AM
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2007
It literally creates multiple desktops.

Superfraggle
  • Members
  • 1019 posts
  • Last active: Sep 25 2011 01:06 AM
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004
I tried hiding a window, and then showing it on the second desktop thinking that could be a way of moving windows, however this didn't work.

I wonder if there is a way of doing it.
Steve F AKA Superfraggle

http://r.yuwie.com/superfraggle

wtg
  • Members
  • 251 posts
  • Last active: Dec 19 2012 03:54 PM
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Doesn't work for me... bummer. I can create and switch to a new desktop, but within a couple seconds it switches back to the original. Perhaps I'm running an app that's not compatible with it, but I can't figure out what it is.

Darn... I liked how petite this was.

Chavez
  • Members
  • 256 posts
  • Last active: Oct 13 2009 01:27 PM
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Very nice, this will be helpful.

Thanks for the find.
-Chavez.

ScottMattes
  • Members
  • 195 posts
  • Last active: Feb 16 2015 01:43 AM
  • Joined: 21 May 2007
My problem with it is that notepad++ will only open in the first desktop, bummer!

wtg
  • Members
  • 251 posts
  • Last active: Dec 19 2012 03:54 PM
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2006

Perhaps I'm running an app that's not compatible with it, but I can't figure out what it is.


Turns out it's not compatible with IBM Lotus Sametime, our corporate IM standard. Every couple seconds the desktop running Sametime activates itself. :(

Chavez
  • Members
  • 256 posts
  • Last active: Oct 13 2009 01:27 PM
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2008
I can really get into this, probably one of the handiest tools i have ever downloaded.
-Chavez.

Superfraggle
  • Members
  • 1019 posts
  • Last active: Sep 25 2011 01:06 AM
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004
I have looked into the DLL calls, and although it seems posible to launch any window on any of the desktops, it doesnt appear possible to transfer existing windows accross desktops.

Shame this would of been very handy if that was possible.
Steve F AKA Superfraggle

http://r.yuwie.com/superfraggle

Wenger
  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Last active: Mar 28 2012 02:00 AM
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008
For a huge scrollable desktop try sdesk. It's small and portable.

Reynoldz
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Last active: Jul 23 2009 11:32 PM
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2009

Microsoft (sysinternals) have released a new multiple desktop manager available here

I can't view that site... :( can someone post the download link on here?

Slanter
  • Members
  • 739 posts
  • Last active: Jul 08 2011 05:26 AM
  • Joined: 28 May 2008
Right here
Unless otherwise stated, all code is untested

(\__/) This is Bunny.
(='.'=) Cut, copy, and paste bunny onto your sig.
(")_(") Help Bunny gain World Domination.