Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate
Photo

AutoHotkey System Requirements?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
LazLong
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Sep 01 2009 02:41 AM
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Perhaps I'm blind, but I've searched <!-- w -->www.autohotkey.com<!-- w --> and the forums, and haven't been able to find a definitive system requirements description AutoHotkey.

Anyone have a link that spells out which OS's are supported, etc?

Thanx....

AnttiV
  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Last active: Feb 13 2014 02:31 PM
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Win95+

It's not that simple though, some of the features don't work on 9x, some need NT/XP. Mostly though, AHK should work in 95 and up. Read documentation of individual features to see if they note something about 95/98 compatibility.

LazLong
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Last active: Sep 01 2009 02:41 AM
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Thanx!

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
also, AHK requires 10MB of HDD space and 20MB of RAM.

Requires Pentium 1 or better CPU (actually I have AHK running on a Win98 laptop with a P1 233 CPU and it's just fine.)

tank
  • Administrators
  • 4345 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active: May 02 2019 09:16 PM
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2007

P1 233 CPU and it's just fine.)

yuk!!!! :twisted:
Never lose.
WIN or LEARN.

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
it's a tiny libretto 100 laptop. Cute enough for it to be worth it to me.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Hi,

What is the exact system requirements for AutoHotkey_L? Have that changed from AutoHotkey Basic? I've seen a post that says some functionalities are not compatible with Windows 98 or earlier. Is that correct?

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
some functions might not work on Win98 because the dlls may not exist. I'm not sure which ones, though. What are you trying to do? If you don't need _L, then I'd avoid using it on older OSes like Win98

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I'm writing an article to introduce AutoHotkey to my people in my country. And I cannot find the official system specifications of the program.

engunneer
  • Moderators
  • 9162 posts
  • Last active: Sep 12 2014 10:36 PM
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005
AHK is not a 'high-performance required' application. Any hardware built since the late 90s can handle it. If you have Win98+, a 10MB+ hard drive and 20MB+ of RAM, then it will do most functions (hotkeys, hotstrings, etc.) If the OS handles unicode, then the unicode version of AHK should be fine. If you insist on numbers for system specs, I'm sure some can be invented. Autohotkey_L is just a newer version of the program, so the same basic requirements apply.

Please post here which Greek website you are writing for :)

jaco0646
  • Moderators
  • 3165 posts
  • Last active: Apr 01 2014 01:46 AM
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2006

Windows 9x and NT4 are not supported. Windows 2000 may require certain updates.


As Windows 2000 is the minimum supported OS, its hardware requirements will also apply to AHK_L.[*:1qvajyjl]133 MHz or more Pentium microprocessor (or equivalent).[*:1qvajyjl]64 megabytes (MB) of RAM recommended. 32 MB of RAM is the minimum supported.[*:1qvajyjl]A 2 GB hard disk that has 650 MB of free space.[*:1qvajyjl]VGA or higher-resolution monitor.[*:1qvajyjl]Keyboard.

  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
I just installed W2K SP4 and tried to run a compiled AutoHotkey_L script without the Windows security updates. It didn't run with an error saying HeapSetInformation cannot be found in Kernerl32.dll. After installing several Windows Update programs and rebooting the machine, the script started running.

Lexikos
  • Administrators
  • 9844 posts
  • AutoHotkey Foundation
  • Last active:
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2006
That is the reason for the Windows 2000 note which jaco0646 quoted. The dependency on those updates is an unfortunate consequence of compiling with Visual C++ 2010. Without certain assembly "hacks", it wouldn't run at all on Windows 2000, or even Windows XP pre-SP3.