Jump to content

Sky Slate Blueberry Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate

Redirect stdin, stdout and stderr [GUI]


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic
BoBo
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
QuickWin - Turn a console application into a Windows program. Redirect stdin, stdout and stderr into a window.
[More...] 8)

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Cool! It makes communicating with console applications much easier. If only I could change the font, which is barely visible on my hires screen…

corrupt
  • Members
  • 2558 posts
  • Last active: Nov 01 2014 03:23 PM
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Thanks for the link :)

Rajat
  • Members
  • 1904 posts
  • Last active: Jul 17 2015 07:45 AM
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004

Cool! It makes communicating with console applications much easier. If only I could change the font, which is barely visible on my hires screen…

does everyone else besides me has hires?...and i'm here stuck with a "mouse's home theatre" (BoBo's words). :(

MIA

CleanNews.in : Bite sized latest news headlines from India with zero bloat


corrupt
  • Members
  • 2558 posts
  • Last active: Nov 01 2014 03:23 PM
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2004

does everyone else besides me has hires?...and i'm here stuck with a "mouse's home theatre" (BoBo's words). :(

Maybe... what resolution are you currently using? I usually use 1280x1024 unless I'm using my laptop which doesn't go above 800x600 (without panning) unless I use an external monitor...

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
You should feel pity for me: I am stuck with 1920x1200 pixel resolution. The standard fonts are so small that I need magnification. If an application does not use the Windows enlarged fonts, and does not let me set the size, I am out of luck.

Rajat
  • Members
  • 1904 posts
  • Last active: Jul 17 2015 07:45 AM
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004
i used to use 800*600 but stretched limits to the current 1024*768! .. h/w doesn't allow beyond that!

You should feel pity for me: I am stuck with 1920x1200 pixel resolution. The standard fonts are so small that I need magnification. If an application does not use the Windows enlarged fonts, and does not let me set the size, I am out of luck.

1920x1200!! oh i'm sure lot of us will pity you! :p

MIA

CleanNews.in : Bite sized latest news headlines from India with zero bloat


BoBo
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
As the source is also availabe at that site, there's a chance that one of you can fix it :D (is jonny, the new C++ guru :wink: still with us ??)

BoBo
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

I am stuck with 1920x1200 pixel resolution. The standard fonts are so small that I need magnification. If an application does not use the Windows enlarged fonts, and does not let me set the size, I am out of luck.

You can have [Resolution Changer] run another application in a specific display resolution and return to the previous resolution when the application finishes.
So run QuickWin 800x600 (AKA "Rajat style" :wink:)

polyethene
  • Members
  • 5519 posts
  • Last active: May 17 2015 06:39 AM
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2012

You should feel pity for me: I am stuck with 1920x1200 pixel resolution.

Increase DPI?

autohotkey.com/net Site Manager

 

Contact me by email (polyethene at autohotkey.net) or message tidbit


Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005
This is the physical resolution of the screen of my laptop, our company provided. If I set it to lower resolution, the screen image gets interpolated, with all kinds of ugly side effects. Also, changing the screen resolution (even just temporarily), rearranges the desktop icons, and makes the fonts in other applications look huge. Editing the source code seems to be the only resolution.

EXtes
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Last active: Apr 07 2012 11:31 AM
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2005

Also, changing the screen resolution (even just temporarily), rearranges the desktop icons, and makes the fonts in other applications look huge.

Tools for saving the icon position exists (e.g. http://www.dimanager...manager,en.html ). Never tested, because I live with 3-5 icons on the desktop.

BoBo
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --

Recognize this ?? You've got all your windows sized, icons placed the way they look great.... explorer crash! (Or, the thing crashes not that much anymore, but it seems to forget sometimes...) And there you go again.. but, there's a way to recover all your settings, that's windows placing, sizing and icon positions, with just one click (Win 9x/2k).

First, make it all look, once more, just the way you want it to be. Choose about 30 folders you access frequently to look good (don't forget your win- and system dir, program files etc.).

Now these settings are in the Registry, open it and go to:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
Select the folder 'Streams'. Choose 'Registry' in the toolbar, and 'export registry-key'. The information in the key is being stored in a .reg file, which is a simple textfile. Name & store where you want. Then do the same with the folder 'StreamMRU'.

Close RegEdit and open the last file with notepad. Remove the first line (REGEDIT4) and copy the rest. Then open your first file and paste it at the end. Save, close and make a shortcut to your desktop. And then, have fun and mess up all your favorite folders. Once exhausted (double)click your shortcut and confirm you wanna enter this info into the Registry. Rejoice!

A lot of graphic cards come with some software to save your desktop icon layout. If yours didn't, alternatives:

Softwarium Restore Desktop "magically restores icons' positions after display resolution changing. You can also restore saved icons' positions manually by rightclicking on the desktop" (free, all versions).

(!!) An even more integrated solution, that works in all versions, is using layout.dll/layout.reg from the NT 4 Resource Kit. Put the .dll in your (9x) \Windows\System, (2k) \Winnt\System32 or (XP) \Windows\System32 folder, import the .reg file and have the option to save and restore (one configuration) in the rightclickmenu of My Computer and the bin (14 kB, source: Jorge Walker at Axcel216).


There's even [more...], to check out ! 8)

Laszlo
  • Moderators
  • 4713 posts
  • Last active: Mar 31 2012 03:17 AM
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2005

Tools for saving the icon position exists.

Thanks! DImanager6 works perfectly. No installation, just run it and your uncle is Bob.

As Bobo quotes, there seem to be many alternatives. This one is free and good enough, so there is no need to look further.

BoBo
  • Guests
  • Last active:
  • Joined: --
Well, I've mentioned already that the source is available (eg. to change the font) - BUT - have someone ever thought about to use that source (link posted above) to accomplish an often requested AHK feature: to redirect/connect comspec's StdOut and StdError to AHK :!:

If you ever thought about a Christmas present for the incredible BoBo, go for that ! :D