Requesting help for setting 1 key to perform as if 2 keys are being held down.

Ask gaming related questions (AHK v1.1 and older)
Jza

Requesting help for setting 1 key to perform as if 2 keys are being held down.

11 Mar 2020, 23:09

Hello. I am new to AHK (well I've used it many years ago and am new again!). Here is the functionality I am trying to achieve.

I would like the Right Shift key to act as if I am pressing down the Right Shift key AND another key. For example the forward slash key "/". And then when I release the Right Shift key, it is as if Right Shift and / have been released. This is for a new Steam game I've recently purchased that has a functionality that is too complicated compared to what I'd like.

So I use my Right Shift key as an aim down the sight button. Once you are aiming down the sight, you can again hit another key to activate the ZOOM. In older games, aiming down the sight automatically applied the zoomed view for you. In this game, it doesn't. I'd like it to act like games from my younger days. Remember you can only zoom AFTER you have aimed down the sight. So for example I would do this:

RightShift (to aim down the sight) then press another key to ZOOM, "/" or forward slash in this case. I hold these down, I do not toggle them. How can I make both of these things happen just by holding down the RightShift key by itself?

RightShift held down = Right shift and "/" held down. (/ might have to come into play a millisecond or so after RightShift if I find they don't work simultaneously because of reasons explained above; can only zoom after aim down the sight has been initiated.

RightShift NOT held down = RightShift and "/" released.

Sorry for rambling I feel if I explain it multiple ways, more people with good knowledge of AHK may be able to help me. Thanks for reading.
Xtra

Re: Requesting help for setting 1 key to perform as if 2 keys are being held down.

11 Mar 2020, 23:26

Try:

Code: Select all

SetKeyDelay, 50, 50