can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

Discussion about the AutoHotkey Foundation and this website
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

18 Feb 2024, 13:32

i found the results listed in "topics" more reasonable,
sometimes in a thread, many post contain the same search word.

repeating show up that post is inappropriate.

i browsed the user profile and seems didn't found such an option.

thanks
User avatar
andymbody
Posts: 904
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 23:47

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

18 Feb 2024, 14:47

-
Try this...
1. Goto advanced search page
2. Enter search keyword
3. (near bottom) Display results as: Topics
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

18 Feb 2024, 21:37

i mean, can i set this as default?
thx
User avatar
andymbody
Posts: 904
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 23:47

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

19 Feb 2024, 00:46

You could always add this to the end of the url in the address bar
&sr=topics

* Or make a hotkey/hotstring to do it for you...
* Or create a script that displays an input box for your keyword, then formats the url to your default preferences, and opens a browser search.
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

19 Feb 2024, 04:01

autohotkey forum need manual overide. ok. thx.
User avatar
andymbody
Posts: 904
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 23:47

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

19 Feb 2024, 09:04

joyrr5092 wrote:
19 Feb 2024, 04:00
autohotkey forum need manual overide. ok. thx.
I agree... thats a much quicker solution. I'll check back later today this morning to see if this has been implemented.
william_ahk
Posts: 496
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 20:02

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 08:29

Since tank messed up the crawler bot prevention I was forced to use the forum search and needed the same thing. You can use this userscript I wrote for the search bar.

Code: Select all

// ==UserScript==
// @name        Custom search options - Autohotkey Community
// @namespace   Violentmonkey Scripts
// @match       https://www.autohotkey.com/boards/*
// @grant       none
// @version     1.0
// @author      -
// @run-at      document-end
// @description Set custom search options for the search bar
// ==/UserScript==

(() => {
    const searchForm = document.getElementById('search');
    if (!searchForm) {
      return;
    }
    const searchOptions = {
        //sf: 'titleonly',
        sr: 'topics',
    }
    for (const name in searchOptions) {
        var input = document.createElement("input");
        input.name = name;
        input.value = searchOptions[name];
        input.type = 'hidden';
        searchForm.appendChild(input);
    }
})();
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 09:21

william_ahk wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 08:29
Since tank messed up the crawler bot prevention I was forced to use the forum search and needed the same thing. You can use this userscript I wrote for the search bar.

Code: Select all

// ==UserScript==
// @name        Custom search options - Autohotkey Community
// @namespace   Violentmonkey Scripts
// @match       https://www.autohotkey.com/boards/*
// @grant       none
// @version     1.0
// @author      -
// @run-at      document-end
// @description Set custom search options for the search bar
// ==/UserScript==

(() => {
    const searchForm = document.getElementById('search');
    if (!searchForm) {
      return;
    }
    const searchOptions = {
        //sf: 'titleonly',
        sr: 'topics',
    }
    for (const name in searchOptions) {
        var input = document.createElement("input");
        input.name = name;
        input.value = searchOptions[name];
        input.type = 'hidden';
        searchForm.appendChild(input);
    }
})();
hi thx, but i am naive and dont know how to use it.
thanks
just me
Posts: 9464
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 08:51
Location: Germany

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 09:52

I asked for this setting years ago with no avail. What a pity!
gregster
Posts: 9035
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 09:59

Well, browser user scripts have been invented already many years ago.
william_ahk
Posts: 496
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 20:02

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 10:24

joyrr5092 wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 09:21
hi thx, but i am naive and dont know how to use it.
thanks
Hi, to use:
  1. Install Tampermonkey or Violentmonkey
  2. Download this script
  3. Drag the script file to the browser and install.
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 10:36

william_ahk wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 10:24
joyrr5092 wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 09:21
hi thx, but i am naive and dont know how to use it.
thanks
Hi, to use:
  1. Install Tampermonkey or Violentmonkey
  2. Download this script
  3. Drag the script file to the browser and install.
thx, just got the same result from the magic mirror.
joyrr5092
Posts: 41
Joined: 28 Dec 2023, 09:54

Re: can i set "search" to display in topic instead of post?

27 Feb 2024, 10:43

william_ahk wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 10:24
joyrr5092 wrote:
27 Feb 2024, 09:21
hi thx, but i am naive and dont know how to use it.
thanks
Hi, to use:
  1. Install Tampermonkey or Violentmonkey
  2. Download this script
  3. Drag the script file to the browser and install.
worked, thx.

after running, just search in the simple search will have the results sorted as topics and no need do thru advanced search.
thanks

Return to “About This Community”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 282 guests