Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

Discussion about the AutoHotkey Foundation and this website
toralf
Posts: 642
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 21:08
Location: Germany

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

11 May 2015, 22:56

Not bad.

Thanks for letting me know that pbtrch is only a joke. That saves me the time to even try it further.

At the end I do not care too much about the colors as long as it doesn't hurt and all is readable. The most important thing for me is to be able to navigate quickly and easily. And that is on Windows phone. IPad and IE. Thus, touchable larger areas to go to a) the first unread post, b) the start of a topic C) the end of a topic d) show the active topics.
ciao
toralf
lexikos
Posts: 6668
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

11 May 2015, 23:16

toralf wrote:The code in code bases is sometimes not visible (enough).
Unfortunately, the colours for code highlighting appear to be hard-coded in each language file, independent from the style/theme.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7352
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

11 May 2015, 23:24

:/ ....
Ok, Ive deactivated pbtech
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB G.Skill RipJaws V - DDR4 3280 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
vasili111
Posts: 747
Joined: 21 Jan 2014, 02:04
Location: Georgia

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 01:02

lexikos wrote:
vasili111 wrote:I found two themes like subSilver2
As I noted elsewhere, the 'Allan Style' theme is based quite different to the actual subsilver2.
In that case can you please install Allans theme ( http://www.awesomestyles.com/phpbb3-sty ... llan-style ) not as default theme so we can see how good it is?
DRAKON-AutoHotkey: Visual programming for AutoHotkey.
vasili111
Posts: 747
Joined: 21 Jan 2014, 02:04
Location: Georgia

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 01:43

Thank for demo link. It has really good colors, easier to read forum, less pain for eyes for me. Can you please add that theme to our forum?
DRAKON-AutoHotkey: Visual programming for AutoHotkey.
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2538
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 01:45

This strange (not smoothly) moving Header-Line makes me crazy :problem:

Whats about Topic solved mod?
Modification description: Gives the topicstarter the option off accepting one answer and mark the topic as solved. And mark the topic as unsolved again.

Whats about the new reCAPTCHA by google to prevent spams by guests?

How about making Sub "General" only aviable for registerd Members?
I know this from different Forums. Only registerd members (sometimes with minimum post counts like 10 posts or minimum registerd time since like 1 month) can post something in "other" topics.
Last edited by jNizM on 12 May 2015, 07:15, edited 1 time in total.
[AHK] 1.1.30.03 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 1909) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
User avatar
fischgeek
Posts: 432
Joined: 29 Jan 2014, 21:39

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 15:34

Can we also remove the full width link in the header? I typically click in the white space of headers to drop focus. Not sure why I do this (OCD maybe?) but, I would be much happier and less likely to jump out the window if it was just the image that was the link. Thanks!
lexikos
Posts: 6668
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 20:44

fischgeek wrote:Can we also remove the full width link in the header?
Sure. This seems to do it:

Code: Select all

#logo {
    display: inline-block;
}
jNizM wrote:This strange (not smoothly) moving Header-Line makes me crazy :problem:
It has position: fixed. I can't think of any reason for it to flicker other than a browser bug. Which browser are you using?
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7352
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 21:57

Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB G.Skill RipJaws V - DDR4 3280 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
guest3456
Posts: 2786
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

12 May 2015, 23:26

would be nice if the quoteboxes had a link to the post that is quoted

User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2538
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 01:11

Which browser are you using?
Chrome 42.0.2311.152 m (64-bit)

In Firefox 38.0 it looks fine
[AHK] 1.1.30.03 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 1909) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
lexikos
Posts: 6668
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 03:06

It also looks fine in IE11 and Chrome 44 canary, and although I can reproduce it on Chrome 42, it doesn't happen all of the time. I'm pretty sure it's a Chrome bug.
lexikos
Posts: 6668
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 03:44

boiler wrote:I understand the value of the black pop-outs for the forum descriptions, but I'd like to point out that on a touch tablet (at least on ipad), it requires two taps to select one of those links.
This isn't the case on my Android (5.0) phone, so I doubt it's the by-design behaviour of the forum style. I'm pretty sure it's implemented with jQuery.hover(), so should provide quite standard behaviour.
fischgeek wrote:Also, seems to be some minor display issues on the smaller media query.
Spoiler
For the first issue, it displays like that on my phone temporarily, until the page finishes loading. Then it's fine. Did you have JavaScript disabled?

For the second issue, I noticed that on my phone, my posts get 5 buttons and everyone else gets a button with a single menu button (with 6 options). Perhaps it can be changed to always use the menu button. Normal users only get one or two buttons, so it's not a widespread issue.
lexikos
Posts: 6668
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 04:11

Looking at your screenshot, I just realized that the color tags aren't working in the new codebox. We'll have to fix that.
toralf wrote:Is there any way to enhance the simplicity theme in regards to allow clicks/touches on the icons?
The icon was already supposed to be a link if there are unread posts in the forum/topic, but the next element was overlapping it. I've fixed that.
toralf wrote:Will there be a specific mobile theme that is more compact? Please see last screenshot it shows this thread and the relevant information/reply is only 4 lines of text, the rest of the screen is just avatars, topic titles and signatures.
Do you think it would be appropriate to hide signatures in the mobile CSS? It doesn't matter to me personally, since I have signatures turned off globally, and don't access this site from my mobile...
GeekDude wrote:Since someone seems to have actually implemented my online banner changes, I want to point out that they also look bizarre on mobile.
It's a bit late, but thanks for posting the CSS earlier. I've fixed the angle for mobile.
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2538
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 07:17

Got this error after hitting Submit Button in autohotkey.com Topic.
Image
[AHK] 1.1.30.03 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 1909) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
GeekDude
Posts: 853
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 22:13

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 07:49

lexikos wrote:
Looking at your screenshot, I just realized that the color tags aren't working in the new codebox. We'll have to fix that.
I think I'd call that a feature, not a bug. I think the only thing that should be "special" in a code box is the code box ending tag.
User avatar
fischgeek
Posts: 432
Joined: 29 Jan 2014, 21:39

Re: Forum upgraded to phpBB v3.1.x

13 May 2015, 08:43

Thanks lexikos. I'll keep an eye out for the header change.
lexikos wrote:For the first issue, it displays like that on my phone temporarily, until the page finishes loading. Then it's fine. Did you have JavaScript disabled?

For the second issue, I noticed that on my phone, my posts get 5 buttons and everyone else gets a button with a single menu button (with 6 options). Perhaps it can be changed to always use the menu button. Normal users only get one or two buttons, so it's not a widespread issue.
No, I didn't have javascript disabled, but it seems to be working just fine now. I have a menu box; slight overlapping issue on longer titles, but livable.
joedf wrote:reCaptcha mod: https://github.com/gothick/phpbb-ext-recaptcha2
Marked solved mod: https://github.com/tierra/topicsolved
Do I install them?
Yes! to the Marked solved. Not sure if we need a recaptcha. Though, Google's new one (which this one claims to use) is pretty slick. Can it be implemented just for guest posting?

Return to “About This Community”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests