My experience porting AHK scripts to Linux.

Discuss other useful utilities, general computing tips & tricks, Internet resources, etc.
A_Perry_1984

My experience porting AHK scripts to Linux.

19 Jun 2019, 13:11

I recently switched my OS to Linux and wanted to share my thoughts on trying to adapt AHK scripts for general use. For the sake of simplification when I am using Linux to describe the many distributions (aka distros). I am also going to preface this by saying I am not that technical. I don't really program. I just tinker.

Now I've read a lot of people on this forum in the past have wanted to make the switch to Linux but have been dissuaded from doing so out of fear of not being able to port scripts. I completely understand this. I am a long time Windows user and hardcore AHK user. I also understand that most long time Linux users just don't get it. Many of them are fan-boys/fan-girls who think that Linux is superior at just about everything. And for the most part, I agree. However, these Linux fans have likely have limited experience with Windows, let alone AHK with Windows. They often suggest different packages (programs) for various tasks, and many of these tools are great, but what they don't get is what makes AHK special. It's simple, self contained and does everything like the one ring.

The good news is, I have found it's quite possible to port AHK to Linux and do a lot with it using Wine Tools. There are limitations so I want share in detail how I have worked around them instead of parroting the Linux crowd. Maybe some of you who are on the fence, not wanting to give up AHK like I was for so long. I also want to make it clear that anything you can't do with AHK on Linux can be done in other ways quickly and easily.

Hotkeys