BBC BASIC - a blast from the past into the future

Discuss other programming languages besides AutoHotkey
ahketype

BBC BASIC - a blast from the past into the future

05 Feb 2019, 19:05

Hi guys,

I thought it was time I gave a shout-out to my other go-to language, BBC BASIC, and see if anyone else here uses it. It was, of course, one of the first widely-used languages on home computers back in the 1980s, designed to be easy to use. Its latest incarnations are BBC BASIC for Windows (BB4W) and a cross-platform BBC for SDL2.0 (BBCSDL), which can be run on Windows, Linux, Android, iOS and Raspberry Pi. I'm not a computer scientist or professional, and in awe of how much other people here know about programming, so don't take any of this as gospel, and do please correct it if I get something wrong.

If you grew up on BASIC like I did, you'll find the language very comfortable, but it's also very powerful now. It's not an emulator of one of the older machines, but takes the best of the old BBC language and uses it to drive the goodies of modern ones.

If you're wondering what languages might be useful to learn, you might find it's got some advantages for certain things, as well as some disadvantages and quirks. One quirk is that it has 'graphic units' two of which correspond to a pixel, but you get used to it. Another is that it has particular default MODEs, where the size of the output window and number of columns and rows of text are set (but you can also create custom ones to your liking, or complete GUI windows of course). It also has the rather neat system of "logical colours", a set of default colours just addressed by number, as well as being able to use RGB ones.