Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

Community news and information about new or upcoming versions of AutoHotkey
TAC109
Posts: 595
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 19:41
Location: New Zealand

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

22 Jun 2020, 05:06

At this stage I plan to just fix the error in that line of code so that it works with v2, and also use Util_TempFile() to get the work file, rather than more extensive changes, if that’s ok @lexikos.

Edit: I don’t think AHKType() would work here.
Edit2: as AHKType() doesn’t return the equivalent of IsUnicode.

@TheArkive - I should have a Beta ready for you soon. (I’ll post it in the other thread in 'Scripts and Functions'.)
Cheers
My scripts:-
XRef - Produces Cross Reference lists for scripts
ReClip - A Text Reformatting and Clip Management utility
User avatar
TheArkive
Posts: 390
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 08:06
GitHub: TheArkive

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

22 Jun 2020, 05:24

TAC109 wrote:
22 Jun 2020, 05:06
At this stage I plan to just fix the error in that line of code so that it works with v2, and also use Util_TempFile() to get the work file, rather than more extensive changes, if that’s ok @lexikos.

Edit: I don’t think AHKType() would work here.
Edit2: as AHKType() doesn’t return the equivalent of IsUnicode.

@TheArkive - I should have a Beta ready for you soon. (I’ll post it in the other thread in 'Scripts and Functions'.)
Cheers
That works! As far as I can tell Ahk2Exe still works just fine, as long as the user matches the appropriate bin with the appropriate version of a script. I'm personally not in a hurry. Just trying to help.
lexikos
Posts: 7088
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

23 Jun 2020, 06:26

TAC109 wrote:
22 Jun 2020, 05:06
Edit: I don’t think AHKType() would work here.
Edit2: as AHKType() doesn’t return the equivalent of IsUnicode.
It would and it does, but the result is based on the file version string, which is blank for AutoHotkeySC.bin. Since we're talking about checking the version of AutoHotkey.exe, that's not a problem.

A more reliable means of detecting whether an AutoHotkey binary file is Unicode is to scan it for a specific string.
julesverne
Posts: 31
Joined: 18 Apr 2017, 14:39
GitHub: JulesverneOnGitHub

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

16 Nov 2020, 15:27

I just wanted to alert all about a very odd bug with ahk_H vers 1 ahk2exe that was solved by @TheArkive

Bug: AutoHotKey icon showing for compiled script that should be user defined icon.

When compiling your script and choosing the option to include a user defined icon, you will see the icon in the taskbar when running the output exe but the file in Explorer will show the AHK icon. It seems that @TheArkive figured out that if you simply move the exe to a different location you will see the icon.

Weird bug, but his solution worked for me. Thanks @TheArkive

*edit*
Even weirder is that when you move the exe back to where it was compiled, the icon goes back to being the autohotkey icon.
TAC109
Posts: 595
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 19:41
Location: New Zealand

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

16 Nov 2020, 17:05

This thread is not about the Ahk2Exe version that ships with AutoHotkey_H, but is an old thread relating to Ahk2Exe for standard versions of AutoHotkey. This old thread has been superseded by this thread, and the changes mentioned have been incorporated into AutoHotkey version 1.1.33.00 and later.

Any problems you have with the AutoHotkey_H version of Ahk2Exe you should post in the AutoHotkey_H section of the forum.

Cheers
My scripts:-
XRef - Produces Cross Reference lists for scripts
ReClip - A Text Reformatting and Clip Management utility
julesverne
Posts: 31
Joined: 18 Apr 2017, 14:39
GitHub: JulesverneOnGitHub

Re: Upcoming Ahk2Exe changes

16 Nov 2020, 18:27

Thanks @TAC109

Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests