Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

Discuss issues and requests related with the forum software
Ben
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2016, 07:26

Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

25 Sep 2019, 15:54

I want to share a script and I've made an animated GIF that shows what it does. My image is stored on Google Drive with a public link. When I put the link between img tags and preview the post, it says "Broken Link for safety" and does not show the image.

I have seen other posts on this site with animated gifs. Do those users have more rights than me? Is there a file size limit, or does the image need to be uploaded?? What is the a trick to making this work?

I will submit this post and see if the links below appear differently than in Preview mode.

Ben

Code: Select all

[img]https drive.google.com /file/d/1PcLc6Zusy2Ah8wvzmrOQVU5yZ6ecZmcX/view[/img]


Image
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7249
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

25 Sep 2019, 22:46

@tank
Can you take a look at this?
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
gwarble
Posts: 388
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 15:01

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

02 Oct 2019, 20:16

seems to work when the link ends in ".gif"... doesn't seem like a permission issue, as I could not use your unbroken link either

https://i.ibb.co/NrsgTKf/2019-09-16-0-04-42-Access-Query-Design-AHK-gif.gif

Image
EitherMouse - Multiple mice, individual settings . . . . www.EitherMouse.com . . . . forum . . . .
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 4253
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

03 Oct 2019, 00:56

It happens when you have less than 30 posts or so.
Recommends AHK Studio
gregster
Posts: 2999
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

03 Oct 2019, 03:34

nnnik wrote:
03 Oct 2019, 00:56
It happens when you have less than 30 posts or so.
That's the general broken link for safety thing, which is intentional. But you also need a certain link format to make it work.
For Ben, both limitations are probably true.

gwarble is right. For users with more (enough) posts, it does work with the direct link with gif-extension (which is on another service, not google drive), while the <img> tags don't work with the link format in the original post, even if it's unbroken:

Code: Select all

[img]https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PcLc6Zusy2Ah8wvzmrOQVU5yZ6ecZmcX/view[/img]
just "creates" :
Image

But the google drive link above is just a link to some kind of "viewer" which limits access, and which seems to be the problem - instead of a "direct" link to a gif.
Not sure, if you could create a direct link on google drive that would work with our forum's <img>-tags, even if you wanted...
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 4253
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

04 Oct 2019, 03:53

Well if its not a .gif but instead an html that you linked why do you expect it to work?
Recommends AHK Studio
gwarble
Posts: 388
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 15:01

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

04 Oct 2019, 08:47

why the attitude? he’s new and asking a very simple question

maybe the “error” should read “not a valid image file” instead of “broken link for safety”
EitherMouse - Multiple mice, individual settings . . . . www.EitherMouse.com . . . . forum . . . .
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7249
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

04 Oct 2019, 09:30

albeit nnnik made it clear for me ahah
Wasnt sure what this error was about... I didnt implement this safety feature. I could take a look if it's truly necessary, but I dont want to go poking around needlessly :? :mrgreen:
I think a "invalid image" would be more helpful :+1:
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 4253
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

04 Oct 2019, 13:23

??? I think that was merely pointing out where the flaw lied? I dont think I was rude or anything?
Recommends AHK Studio
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7249
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

04 Oct 2019, 13:32

Simple misunderstanding here, no worries for anyone :+1: haha
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
Ben
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2016, 07:26

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

07 Oct 2019, 18:08

So, what I think I'm hearing here is: 1) I need to have more posts, roughly 30. 2) I need to make sure the link is to a source where it is still a .GIF and now a link to a viewer (or whatever Google Drive gave me for my example). 3) Uploading an image may work instead of using a link, but I can't tell until I have more posts.

30 seems a bit high. Is that for attachments in general, or just animated GIFs?
Ben
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2016, 07:26

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

07 Oct 2019, 18:16

nnnik wrote:
04 Oct 2019, 03:53
Well if its not a .gif but instead an html that you linked why do you expect it to work?
I tried using it as an attachment, which didn't work, as well as a link to Google Drive, which I incorrectly assumed was a pointer to a file.
gregster
Posts: 2999
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

07 Oct 2019, 18:20

Picture attachments (image files from your computer's hard drive) should work for you already: Full Editor > Attachments > Add files > (optionally use 'place inline' to position images at the caret position instead of the end of the post)

Max 3 images per post... perhaps you currently can (are allowed to) even upload gifs this way, not sure.

Until this spring, rules were at lot more loose, but then a massive spam wave occured and current rules seem mostly ok now... they were necessary for sure... these images of headless corpses haven't been pure fun :crazy:


Upload of a gif from my hd:
tenor.gif
tenor.gif (122.67 KiB) Viewed 550 times
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 7249
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

07 Oct 2019, 19:48

:/
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 4.00 GHz, 2x8GB DDR4 3143 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
Ben
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2016, 07:26

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

13 Oct 2019, 21:07

My GIF doesn't show the 'place inline' option, probably due to the size. As you saw in my last email, the attachment didn't show up at all, though there was no warning that it was too big, I was short on permissions, or anything. The Status was just a green bar. It stayed that way a few minutes.

I was able to 'place inline' and preview a .gif of a smaller size (98 kb). The Status showed a green circled check mark for this file.
Commodore_Olympics.gif
Commodore_Olympics.gif (97.68 KiB) Viewed 294 times
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 4253
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: Want to add animated GIF to post but "Broken Link for safety" appears

14 Oct 2019, 05:30

It probably just failed to upload due to some issues with the network
Recommends AHK Studio

Return to “Forum Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests