potential line continuation bug Topic is solved

Get help for the alpha version of AutoHotkey v2 here. Please state the v2 version you are working with in the title when making a new topic.
User avatar
vvhitevvizard
Posts: 405
Joined: 25 Nov 2018, 10:15
Location: Russia

potential line continuation bug

25 Jan 2019, 08:24

Speaking of if-statement and short-circuit alternatives, when I was creating some long expression, I accidentally found a new conundrum.
For the example, I simplified it to the smallest possible arrangement that keeps raising an error. The next syntax is correct at _load time_ (if statement's expression is split to 2 lines):

Code: Select all

	if(r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n 
		, 'ptr',p)) ;syntax accepted
		d++
		
And when I replace it with && expression:

Code: Select all

	(r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n
		, 'ptr',p))  ;error at load-time
		&& d++
It gives error: Missing ")"

if I join 2 lines in 1:

Code: Select all

	(r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n, 'ptr',p)) ;syntax accepted
		&& d++
		
the expression's syntax is accepted.
2nd line starting with , is correct itself (it is accepted in first variant with if statement). arrangement of parenthesis is not changed.
_3D_
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Jan 2014, 14:40

Re: potential line continuation bug

25 Feb 2019, 04:00

I think there no any bug.
See syntax of IF in v2:

Code: Select all

If(condition) ;condition enclosed in brackets
	action ;next line is action
In your example:

Code: Select all

if(r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n 
		, 'ptr',p)) ;condition enclosed in brackets => r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n, 'ptr',p)
		d++	;action
Next when you add operator &&: then error is "Missing operand" - left && right - you missing left operand from action.
The right syntax:

Code: Select all

if((r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n 
		, 'ptr',p)) ;syntax accepted
		&& d++) ;condition enclosed in brackets => (r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n, 'ptr',p)) && d++
		action:= 1	;action
When brackets exist then condition become enclosed inside, next line is action.
Enjoy!
AHKv2.0 alpha forever.
lexikos
Posts: 7088
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: potential line continuation bug  Topic is solved

22 Mar 2019, 05:07

Code: Select all

MsgBox "
(r:=DllCall(a, 'int',n  ; ← Continuation section with invalid options
    , 'ptr',p))  ; ← Body of continuation section
    && d++       ;
)"  ; ← Non-missing ")"

Return to “AutoHotkey v2 Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests