[SOLVED] Can I toggle between two windows with one shortcut?

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
andersbrontosaurus

[SOLVED] Can I toggle between two windows with one shortcut?

25 Oct 2015, 18:00

Hello!
I'm new to autohotkey.
My intention is to use it with the tracker Jeskola Buzz.
My first issue is toggling between two windows. I want them on the screen side by side. To be able to control them the window have to be active and I would like to activate them without fiddling with the mouse.
With the help of tutorials and manuals I have learnt how to create hotkeys to activate windows so I now have two hotkeys, one for each window. My question is: is there a way to toggle between the two windows using only one hotkey? I mean, in a similar way that alt+tab can be used to toggle between active programs on the computer, could this be done inside a program?
Last edited by andersbrontosaurus on 26 Oct 2015, 17:27, edited 2 times in total.
Nextron

Re: Can I toggle betwwen two windows with one shortcut?

25 Oct 2015, 18:37

This should get you started:

Code: Select all

F1::
	QuickToggle:=!QuickToggle
	If (QuickToggle)
		WinActivate App1
	Else
		WinActivate App2
Return
lexikos
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Can I toggle betwwen two windows with one shortcut?

26 Oct 2015, 03:04

Nextron's script falls short if you manually activate one of the windows - i.e. you might need to press the hotkey twice to have an effect.

Another way is to check which window is active:

F1::
    if !WinActive("App1")
        WinActivate App1
    else if !WinActive("App2")
        WinActivate App2
return
App1 and App2 are window titles, as in Nextron's script. You can extend this to work with as many windows as you want by simply adding one else if..WinActivate for each window.

But actually, there's a built-in command for this: GroupActivate.

GroupAdd Swap, App1
GroupAdd Swap, App2
; Add as many window titles to the group as you want.

F1::GroupActivate Swap