Page 1 of 31

[Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 11 Oct 2013, 07:12
by tmplinshi
This script is based on HotShow.ahk by RaptorX (http://www.autohotkey.com/board/topic/5 ... tutorials/).

Screenshot:
Image

Source: https://github.com/tmplinshi/KeypressOSD
You may want to check out robodesign's edition, it's very well designed and has many features:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD

Posted: 11 Oct 2013, 07:26
by smorgasbord
tmplinshi wrote:This script is based on HotShow.ahk by RaptorX (http://www.autohotkey.com/board/topic/5 ... tutorials/).

ScreenShot:
Image

KeypressOSD.ahk:
Spoiler
wow!! it can help in increasing/improving typing speed a hell lot.. liked it so so so very much :)
thanks for creating and posting it :)

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD

Posted: 11 Oct 2013, 07:27
by tmplinshi
smorgasbord, glad you like it :D

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 11 Oct 2013, 13:01
by PointCloud
This is a really good little script. This could be very helpful for programs that do not have the key press display for tutorials or self improvement. The first software I remember with this feature was Blender. I see tons of potential here to expand its features or mod it to display all kinds of different information. So many possibilities. Thanks for this.

Cheers!

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 11 Oct 2013, 17:24
by joedf
neat!

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 14 Oct 2013, 08:08
by empardopo
Very nice,but Is not it possible to detect joystick buttons too?
Greetings!

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 14 Oct 2013, 08:17
by tmplinshi
empardopo, try this: (Add the red text to the "Create hotkey" section.)
; #################################
; Create hotkey
; #################################
;
Loop, 32 ; Joy1-Joy32
Hotkey, % "~*Joy" A_Index, Display

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 23 Sep 2014, 02:05
by huyaowen
Should set the gui or image's alpha channel then can be recorded

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 23 Sep 2014, 03:20
by hoppfrosch
What are the main differences to OSD (http://ahkscript.org/boards/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3966) by maestrith?

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 23 Sep 2014, 03:28
by tmplinshi
hi, hoppfrosch, you can have a try.

Here is a gif screenshot:

Image

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 23 Sep 2014, 04:21
by huyaowen
和maestrith的一样,对于ctrl alt shift等都不能显示。
same as maestrith,ctrl alt shift cannot display.

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 23 Sep 2014, 08:55
by joedf
@hoppfrosch this came out first.

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 07 Nov 2014, 10:36
by Guest 1
Why it return error in line 40 when i load it?
but it work after i click ok.

it say

Error: " " is not a valid Key name.

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 07 Nov 2014, 15:52
by tmplinshi
Guest 1 wrote:Why it return error in line 40 when i load it?
but it work after i click ok.

it say

Error: " " is not a valid Key name.
I have no idea. Please try re-download KeypressOSD.ahk and install latest version of AutoHotkey.

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 11 Dec 2014, 08:42
by burton666
How can I modify the script to only show some custom info when ctrl is pressed? I would like to show some basic info from a couple of variables when I hold down ctrl?

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 16 Mar 2015, 04:53
by samardac
Cool script but how to make that mouse buttons show? For example ALT+LMB?

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 21 Apr 2015, 10:07
by Guest
samardac wrote:Cool script but how to make that mouse buttons show? For example ALT+LMB?
That is supported in my fork of the script :)
https://gist.github.com/Aprillion/1016904b7573c32f00b9

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 22 Apr 2015, 03:39
by empardopo
tmplinshi wrote:empardopo, try this: (Add the red text to the "Create hotkey" section.)
; #################################
; Create hotkey
; #################################
;
Loop, 32 ; Joy1-Joy32
Hotkey, % "~*Joy" A_Index, Display
Adding this, I have a problem when I have connected two joysticks to my computer.
The script shows Joy4 when I press the button4 in my joystick 1 or 2. Is it possible solve it?

Thanks

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 01 Sep 2016, 04:19
by SashaChernykh
I'm sorry, that I have to do to names of the keys show at the top of my page, not at the bottom?

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Posted: 01 Sep 2016, 06:10
by SashaChernykh
Russian keyboard layout support

Description

I want that when I switch to Russian layout of the keyboard, the script showed the Russian letters, but not English.

Now script showed only English letters when at me Russian layout of the keyboard is included.

Image

Thanks.