TotalKeyMix: Windows volume control for RME TotalMix

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

TotalKeyMix: Windows volume control for RME TotalMix

11 Jan 2018, 19:59

I'm posting a script with a compiled .exe that was originally posted at https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/17212-midi-output-from-ahk/?p=292047 and https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=8343 and created by Stephan Römer. TotalKeyMix is a tool to control the volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys. Aditional credits go to TomB from the AutoHotKey forums for implementing the MIDI functions into AutoHotKey and Kip Chatterson (creator of KeyMce/GenMce), who helped Stephan with the script framework of the MIDI implementation. The Volume On-Screen-Display (OSD) was coded by Rajat.

TotalKeyMix_v1.1.zip
(1.9 MiB) Downloaded 96 times

Changes in version 1.1:
• added On-Screen-Display
• the code for volume up/down has been simplified
• the mute button sets volume to 0, it no longer triggers Dim
• added more options in the config.ini file
• a larger .ico file has been created for higher DPI scaling
Last edited by ikonomov on 20 Feb 2019, 20:01, edited 8 times in total.
Ved
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Jul 2016, 19:06

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

20 Jan 2018, 23:12

Hey, im use the same midi library and loopmidi for midi ports.

more options with you add more control on totalmix:
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,176,9,0) ;for control input gain
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,228,0,0) ;for control output for individual channels
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

01 Feb 2018, 22:20

Hi Ved, you can find a more complete list of the midi channels and cc for totalmix than the one I included in the readme at https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=24437. You can edit config.ini and make the volume control whichever fader you want. I thought about adding control for more than one fader, but decided against it to keep it simple and strictly as a volume controller.
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

01 Feb 2018, 22:28

I'm having some issues with MIDI Yoke on Windows 10. Specifically it stops working after certain Windows updates. I suspect that it might be because it has to be installed under compatibility mode. I am currently using LoopBe1 and so far it seems to work fine.

Edit: It seems both LoopBe1 and loopMIDI are preventing the computer to enter standby, so I went back to using MIDI Yoke.
Edit 2: MIDI Yoke does not work reliably on Windows 10, but LoopBe1 or loopMIDI can be used. For the time being, using MIDI to control TotalMix will stop the system from entering standby by itself. You can follow the thread here https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=26684 and check the progress of this issue. There is a workaround which I have described in the readme.pdf included in the .zip file using powercfg utility which forces standby to ignore a system interrupt.
Last edited by ikonomov on 22 May 2018, 10:54, edited 5 times in total.
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

08 Feb 2018, 12:13

Thanks Ved for the suggestion, I took your advice and switched to loopMIDI. LoopBe1 for some reason was preventing the computer to standby.

Edit: It seems both LoopBe1 and loopMIDI are preventing the computer to enter standby, so I went back to using MIDI Yoke.
Edit 2: MIDI Yoke does not work reliably on Windows 10, but LoopBe1 or loopMIDI can be used. For the time being, using MIDI to control TotalMix will stop the system from entering standby by itself. You can follow the thread here https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=26684 and check the progress of this issue. There is a workaround which I have described in the readme.pdf included in the .zip file using powercfg utility which forces standby to ignore a system interrupt.
Last edited by ikonomov on 22 May 2018, 10:54, edited 1 time in total.
KarmaCrisis

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

23 Mar 2018, 19:02

So I feel like a dummy but would really love some help with this. The install of MIDI Yoke and TotalKeyMix seemed to go well...the program runs and responds visually to my keyboard volume wheel, however there is no effect on the actual volume. Any tips? My main outs on my UFX+ are 3/4 if that helps. Thank you in advance!
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

22 May 2018, 11:00

KarmaCrisis wrote:So I feel like a dummy but would really love some help with this. The install of MIDI Yoke and TotalKeyMix seemed to go well...the program runs and responds visually to my keyboard volume wheel, however there is no effect on the actual volume. Any tips? My main outs on my UFX+ are 3/4 if that helps. Thank you in advance!
Hey, sorry for the late reply. I think the reason for your problem is because MIDI Yoke doesn't seem to work reliably on Windows 10. I experienced the same issue. You can use instead LoopBe1 or loopMIDI. However, for the time being, using MIDI to control TotalMix will stop the system from entering standby by itself. MIDI Yoke does not, but I think this is only because the driver is installed under compatibility mode in Windows 10. I have updated the readme.pdf inside the .zip with a detailed workaround.
etherb0x
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jun 2018, 17:59
GitHub: lucafusi

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

07 Jun 2018, 18:35

**EDIT: Nevermind, got it. Had to switch the MIDI port in config.ini to 3 to correspond to the loopMIDI port, as well as choose that within TotalMix. Should've been obvious. Leaving this up here in case it helps someone!

You all are brilliant. I had just spent a bunch of time trying to get genmce's script to work properly on my machine with no success. Fortunately, my use case is as simple as the one you've encapsulated in this script: Volume_Up / Volume_Down knob mapping to the RME TotalMix software for volume control via MIDI messages.

I've got everything downloaded and Volume_Up/Volume_Down set as the controlling inputs in config.ini; they are correctly animating the top green bar when I use them. However, they aren't actually steering anything within TotalMix. I've got these checked in TotalMix:

Enable MIDI Control
Settings->Remote Controller Select->1 (In Use)
Settings->MIDI Connection->MIDI In->FF800 Midi Port 1
Settings->MIDI Connection->MIDI Out->None
Mackie->Enable Protocol Support (was checked by default)

Any idea of how I might want to reroute things to get this working? I've got loopMIDI installed, didn't initially, but it's still not driving any knobs after the installation / launch.

I'm hoping this opens up options for MIDI control via the keyboard in the future, but this is a great start.

Thank you!
etherb0x
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jun 2018, 17:59
GitHub: lucafusi

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

07 Jun 2018, 18:49

Does anyone know if there's a CC to control the AN 9/10 (Headphones submix) outputs? I don't see it listed anywhere on this fairly thorough breakdown: https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=24437
etherb0x
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jun 2018, 17:59
GitHub: lucafusi

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

07 Jun 2018, 18:55

Any ideas on which CC controls the AN 9-10 Headphones submix? It would seem to be Channel 1 / CC07 according to the Fireface 800 manual (which is my interface):

Image

However, that one seems linked to the main outputs. I'll keep experimenting in case I turn anything up.
Ved
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Jul 2016, 19:06

Re: TotalKeyMix 1.0.5: a tool to control the main volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

09 Jun 2018, 08:09

Use loop function for test all controlls,like this:
+z::
winactivate,RME TotalMix FX
cc=0
loop,50
{cc++
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,224,cc,0)
sleep 500
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,224,cc,127)
sleep 500
}
cc=0
loop,50
{cc++
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,176,cc,0)
sleep 500
midiOutShortMsg(h_midiout,176,cc,127)
sleep 500
}
return
; open rme totalmix and look changes


sorry, im not guest, XD
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix: a tool to control the volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

13 Feb 2019, 21:14

Recently I had to reinstall Windows, along with TotalKeyMix, and I realized that I should rewrite the the readme file with easier to follow instructions. Additionally I made a few minor changes in the script, and a new version 1.1 has been uploaded.

Edit: I re-uploaded the v1.1 again with an edited readme.pdf.
BuggyB
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Mar 2019, 17:59

Re: TotalKeyMix: a tool to control the volume of RME TotalMix with hotkeys

25 Mar 2019, 18:03

Hi ikonomov, I just registered to thank you for that, that's great ! :clap:
BuggyB
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Mar 2019, 17:59

Re: TotalKeyMix: Windows volume control for RME TotalMix

08 Apr 2019, 17:20

Hi,
I tried to recompile v1.1 with ahk2exe (from AutoHotkey v104805 as recommended in the readme), and I get a "EXE corrupted" error when trying to run it. Any idea ?

If I recompile using the latest AHK version, it compiles and runs all right, but doen't change the volume at all.

edit : I copied the compiler folder from v104805, as well as TotalKeyMix v1.1 source in a virtual machine where AHK was not installed, and there, everything works as expected. Looks like the problem was trying to use v104805 compiler with newest version of AHK installed. I don't understand how it all works yet, but ar least I've got a way to recompile.
ikonomov
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 22:10

Re: TotalKeyMix: Windows volume control for RME TotalMix

12 Apr 2019, 19:50

Newer versions won't compile correctly, I believe the problem was that they implemented unicode encoding. On my PC (win10 installed) having installed v1.1.30.0.1 doesn't seem to cause a problem compiling using the v1.0.48.05 compiler. I'm not certain what might be causing the issue you are experiencing, the only thing I can think of is if the OS or an AV software might be preventing the compiler or the compiled .exe from running normally...

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jackdunning, robodesign and 28 guests