Page 8 of 12

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 18 Sep 2017, 08:02
by Maniac
Glad you found something that worked!

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 18 Sep 2017, 08:33
by nilsonrdg
One reason I wasn't using Autohotkey all the time was because I was concerned about it learning my passwords (and I also have other concerns about security). It's true that if someone can access the file "WordlistLearned.txt" (or use some ahk script to get my passwords), it means that my computer is already compromised, and my passwords can be stolen by other ways.

I think would be a good idea that the script couldn't learn words that resemble passwords (strings composed by numbers, symbols and letters).

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 18 Sep 2017, 10:32
by Maniac
Well, symbols and letters will likely terminate your word anyway. You can also add a string to typingaid that, if it finds words containing that string, it won't learn that word.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 24 Oct 2017, 17:02
by GavinPen
Invaluable piece of software, many thanks Maniac!
I've been using TypingAid to provide a sort of typeahead knowledge base.
I've stored lots of useful information in my WordListLearned.txt.
Because TypingAid treats an asterisk as a wildcard for anything (a string containing any number of characters),
I can search my knowledge base when typing anywhere simply by typing a * then the word I want to search for.
All the lines containing that word are immediately displayed.
Does anybody else use TypingAid in this way?
Or (dare I ask) are alternative word completion knowledge bases available?

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 25 Oct 2017, 04:33
by Maniac
GavinPen wrote:Invaluable piece of software, many thanks Maniac!
I've been using TypingAid to provide a sort of typeahead knowledge base.
I've stored lots of useful information in my WordListLearned.txt.
Because TypingAid treats an asterisk as a wildcard for anything (a string containing any number of characters),
I can search my knowledge base when typing anywhere simply by typing a * then the word I want to search for.
All the lines containing that word are immediately displayed.
Does anybody else use TypingAid in this way?
Or (dare I ask) are alternative word completion knowledge bases available?
Glad you are enjoying it. Interesting note about the asterisk... I don't think that's intentional. I will try to take a look sometime to see why it's happening, maybe it could be a better fleshed out feature.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 25 Oct 2017, 05:52
by Maniac
So the asterisk thing is a side effect of using SQLite. I didn't bother about protecting against SQL Injection as the database is local.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 25 Oct 2017, 13:14
by burque505
Maniac, thanks again for TypingAid, and GavinPen, that's a nice tip about using the asterisk.
regards,
burque505

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 21 Jun 2018, 07:29
by maher
I am using this for text expansion. I would like in include and new line feed to replace a word with multiline paragraph. Is this possible ? I have tried escaping `r and `n but it is recognised as normal text

thanks in advance

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 21 Jun 2018, 12:49
by Maniac
Not without modification to the code, no.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 22 Jun 2018, 03:06
by Maher
I managed to use a unique character and replace it with `n at the sendfull section in Sending.AHK

Can you please advise where I can stringreplace the newline character after pressing control+shift+C to include new entry to the wordlistlearned.txt file ?

What I am trying to do is to copy a paragraph and automatically changes linefeeds to the unique character before it is sent to the database

Many thanks

Maher

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 22 Jun 2018, 08:25
by Maniac
You'll need to make modifications to AddWordToList(AddWord,ForceCountNewOnly,ForceLearn=false, ByRef LearnedWordsCount = false) in Wordlist.ahk. You'll need to modify it to index the correct word too. ForceLearn is true when Ctrl-Shift-C is hit.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 07 Jul 2018, 14:52
by calamities
Is it possible to have the script autocomplete phrases and ignore spaces? I'm using Typingaid to help with Data entry of phrases in Excel, each cell has seperate phrases that would be great to be able to autocomplete, but phrase matching seems to only work for me when the phrase starts with a large word. If the Phrase starts with a "The" or "A", then the autocomplete stops looking once the small word is typed and starts looking for the second word typed. Is it possible to have Typingaid keep looking for the whole phrase rather than have the small word and space reset the search? Or would I be better off stripping all leading short words from the phrases in my wordlist? Thanks!

-Matt

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 11 Jul 2018, 09:08
by Maniac
It's not really designed to work that way. It would require significant redesign and would somehow need to know when to start looking for a "new" phrase - what's the reset trigger? Space wouldn't be usable anymore.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 11 Jul 2018, 11:36
by calamities
Hmm.. Is there a way I could set the reset trigger to be enter or the down arrow rather than space?

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 12 Jul 2018, 10:34
by Maniac
Sure you could. You'd have to hit that every time you want to start a new search AND you'd have to make sure it doesn't do anything else in what you're typing, like go to a new line.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 13 Jul 2018, 12:32
by calamities
For data entry in Excel, that might work. I'm typing single lines in the cells. Could the reset trigger even be set to a com command that recognized when you've moved to a new cell?

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 16 Jul 2018, 08:00
by Maniac
Ah, I see. Might work. Regarding the Com Command, maybe. You'd have to make some possibly hefty modifications, but they may not be too bad.

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 21 Jul 2018, 02:37
by SL5
calamities wrote:For data entry in Excel, that might work. I'm typing single lines in the cells. Could the reset trigger even be set to a com command that recognized when you've moved to a new cell?
or use some like this:

https://github.com/sl5net/global-Intell ... s.txt#L112

hint text shown while you tiyping|rr|text pastet very fast first|ahk|Send,{Enter}hi thats is the ahk area. its running as last action

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 04 Oct 2018, 01:03
by vkhu
Hi there, might be a bit of a grave digging, but I'm curious to know if there's anyway to "chain" the entries together.

Say I have 3 entries: "inquire specifically" and "specifically about" and "about the company", all at the top of the dropdown suggestion box (assuming the first 3 letters of the 1st word is typed out). Currently, I'm having to type "inq1 abo1" to get "inquire specifically about the company". What I'd like to be able to do is just type "inq1<wait till it type out 'spe'>1<wait till it type out 'abo'>1" and still get "inquire specifically about the company".

Is there a way to do that?

Re: TypingAid v2.22.0 - Word AutoCompletion Utility

Posted: 04 Oct 2018, 01:18
by SL5
vkhu wrote:... company". What I'd like to be able to do is just type "inq1<wait till it type out 'spe'>1<wait till it type out 'abo'>1" and still get "inquire specifically about the company".
Is there a way to do that?
TypingAid is not a programmable language

may read the readme of it:

<word>|d|<description>
"Word descriptions can be added to 'ActionList .ahk' that will appear in the ActionList next to the word. These descriptions should be in the form of
<word>|d|<description>, e.g., Tylenol|d|Pain Reliever.
This could be used for things like definitions, translation aids, or function arguments. When Fixed Width fonts are used in the ActionList, the description columns will be tabbed evenly so they line up."
04.03.017 16:16 from https://github.com/ManiacDC/TypingAid

replacements:
<word>|rr|<description> todo: descrip

<word>|r|<description>
"Word replacements can be added to 'ActionList.ahk' that will appear in the ActionList next to the word. These replacements should be in the form of
<word>|r|<description>, e.g., fire|r|fuego.
When the word is chosen, it will be backspaced out and replaced with the new word. If Case Correction is off, the first letter will be changed to match the case of the word being replaced. This could be used for spelling replacements, text expansion, or translation aids. Multiple replacements can be defined for a word (put each on a separate line)."