Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

Discuss features, issues, about Editors for AHK
User avatar
rediffusion
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Mar 2019, 05:16

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

09 Dec 2019, 12:34

@jNizM
TextFX (x86) brings a number of useful features.
About this plugin here's an interesting topic.
User avatar
rediffusion
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Mar 2019, 05:16

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

15 Dec 2019, 03:00

@jNizM

In start post... This link doesn't work.

@AHKxx

Code: Select all

^':: Send {LEFT 1}"{RIGHT 1}  ;"
Where do I put this line?

@ry3ks3u_m4dd0ns

I liked this `theme` how to put it on, how to use it?

@Masonjar13

What kind of script it is? does that give me some privileges? I have the plugins "RunMe" and "Run Script" which is added via Menu > Run > Run... F5

▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪▪
Question for all:

How to change double click `Selection color`? Right now it's dark green, screenshot:
Leli196
Posts: 206
Joined: 29 Aug 2015, 05:47
Location: Germany

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

18 Dec 2019, 09:47

Is there no way to get AutoComplete to display the calltips for commands? The file contains them, but I do not get them to show up, except for functions.
zLynde
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Feb 2019, 00:02

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

31 Dec 2019, 00:39

Just FYI, since I spent way too long looking for a solution:

In the current version of Notepad++ (7.8.2), there is a folder called autoCompletion, where you'll need to save the autocompletion xml file, instead of the plugins\APIs folder that was referenced in the original post.

If this post saves one person 5 minutes of confusion, it will have been worth it. Cheers!
toralf
Posts: 792
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 21:08
Location: Germany

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

31 Dec 2019, 03:26

Thanks a lot for the hint. The keywords are now shown for AutoCompletion and for function parameters the calltip for the parameters are shown after an opening parentheses is typed.
But I couldn't invoke the command parameters (e.g. ON or OFF for AutoTrim). They are specified in the xml. Have you found a way to have them show/used?
ciao
toralf
Leli196
Posts: 206
Joined: 29 Aug 2015, 05:47
Location: Germany

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

31 Dec 2019, 05:20

I did not, I think it is not possible.
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2661
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

05 Feb 2020, 10:16

Update on GitHub
- N++ Path in installation guid (readme)
- Links (readme)
- More functions and commands (udl)
- Transparent Background for light and dark mode (udl)
[AHK] 1.1.32.00 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 2004) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
Helgef
Posts: 4458
Joined: 17 Jul 2016, 01:02
Contact:

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

31 Mar 2020, 10:19

User @TheArkive wrote a nice script which enables calltips in notepad++ (and notepad), please see CallTipsForAll v1. The script requires AHK v2 [a108] but yields calltips for both v1 (default) and v2 (if wanted).

Also, many thanks to @jNizM for this guide, I use it every time I install notepad++ on a new computer or reinstalls windows.

Cheers.
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2661
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

01 Apr 2020, 02:21

Update on GitHub
- added commands Switch and Case (udl)

@Helgef Thank you my friend ;)
I wish I was as active as I was 2-3 years ago.
[AHK] 1.1.32.00 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 2004) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
hardcider09
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 May 2020, 10:24

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

10 May 2020, 12:13

I had been using userDefineLang_AHK.xml with Notepad++ for years but just a few weeks ago I started having a problems with it.

I'm not sure what's the cause.

After I install userDefineLang_AHK.xml, sometimes it works fine. But then other times usually after a few days some strange things start happening:

The next time I go to edit a script, the highlighting is changed and wrong. For example, some lines are green that shouldn't be. Other coloring is wrong as well. When I open the Language pull down menu to check to make sure AutoHotkey is chosen, it is...and if I choose it again by clicking on it, Notepad++ pages down the script some amount of lines.

Could it be something is getting "corrupted"?

I'm using Notepad++v7.8.5 64-bit Build time: Mar 4 2020 - 11:08:34
Windows 10 Pro Version 1909 64-bit

Any advice is much appreciated.
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 2661
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
GitHub: jNizM
Contact:

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

11 May 2020, 02:11

I have also noticed this since a few versions of Notepad++. They will have patched something broken.
Mostly it helps to click on "Language -> AutoHotkey". After that the highlight is correct again.
[AHK] 1.1.32.00 x64 Unicode | [WIN] 10 Pro (Version 2004) x64 | [GitHub] Profile
Donations are appreciated if I could help you
hardcider09
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 May 2020, 10:24

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

12 May 2020, 05:53

Yes, I end up clicking on "Language -> AutoHotkey" and it fixes it temporarily. Thank you for confirming it is not just me who is having this problem.
User avatar
slyfox1186
Posts: 13
Joined: 28 Oct 2018, 23:56

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

02 Jun 2020, 14:29

Hey I made a fork off of your Lazy Default Theme to be used with Dracula's Notepad++ color theme.

You can get the Dracula theme at: https://draculatheme.com/notepad-plus-plus/

My theme fork: https://pastebin.com/zbGwzee0

Check it out and tell me what you think.

Screen shots: https://imgur.com/a/d8L2EAe

FYI: Not sure how to fix the links at this time...
Last edited by gregster on 02 Jun 2020, 15:42, edited 1 time in total.
Gedrean
Posts: 15
Joined: 02 Jun 2019, 09:10

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

20 Jul 2020, 16:30

@jNizM

Hey, I thought I'd suggest this:

In your Github page, your readme.md suggests the following lines for making a .reg file (and the corresponding AHK script)...

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoHotkeyScript\Shell\Edit\Command]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Notepad++\\notepad++.exe %1"

and

RegWrite REG_SZ, HKCR, AutoHotkeyScript\Shell\Edit\Command,, C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe `%1

--

I recommend changing the %1 in the Reg script to \"%1\" (backslash+doublequote+%1+backslash+doublequote).
I'm not sure the appropriate escape sequence in the AHK script, it's been a while since I've thought of it.

Anyhow, this change fixes issues with paths with special characters or spaces.

I didn't think it appropriate to do a full fork and pull just for this.
raron
Posts: 24
Joined: 11 Aug 2014, 00:50

Re: Setup Notepad++ for AutoHotkey

05 Aug 2020, 11:59

I made me a shortcut from Notepad++ to run AutoHotKey scripts directly. I haven't looked at all pages here, so maybe it's mentioned somewhere. I just thought I'd put it up here just in case it's of any use.
In addition I added a custom toolbar button to press.

Description
EDIT: Typos + "spoilered" to shorten post.

Return to “Editors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests