insert/overwrite mode

Discuss features, issues, about Editors for AHK
Sharon
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Apr 2020, 16:02

insert/overwrite mode

07 Apr 2020, 17:52

Was curious if anyone intentionally turns on the overwrite mode of the insert/overwrite mode in their editor? To me it's only there to annoy me when I accidentally press 'insert' and then start typing over something that I didnt ' want to :facepalm:.
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 6199
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: insert/overwrite mode

07 Apr 2020, 21:11

It’s a good reason to use it as a hotkey for something else. That’s what I do.
guest3456
Posts: 3145
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: insert/overwrite mode

09 Apr 2020, 21:35

its useful if you have formatting that you want to retain.. sometimes comments are meant to have a certain width, or other text formatted as a table, and insert mode would shift all the fields.. in that case you would want to use overwrite mode. that's pretty much the only time i use it, if i even remember

User avatar
tidbit
Posts: 1181
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:15
Location: USA

Re: insert/overwrite mode

11 Apr 2020, 17:44

its also great for ascii-art and ascii-tables.
rawr. fear me.
*poke*
Is it December 21, 2012 yet?

Return to “Editors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests