Page 1 of 1

Turn off Autocomplete?

Posted: 18 Apr 2018, 12:24
by dmatch
Is there a setting to turn off autocomplete? Thought I looked everywhere but...maybe not. I mostly ignore the autocomplete listbox but it tends to get in my way.

Re: Turn off Autocomplete?  Topic is solved

Posted: 18 Apr 2018, 14:27
by dmatch
Okay, I got the autocomplete listbox to stop popping up. Don't care for this workaround but I commented these 2 lines out in the ahk.properties file in the SciTe subfolder of AutoHotkey folder:

Code: Select all

#autocomplete.ahk1.start.characters=$(chars.alpha)$(chars.numeric)$(chars.accented)[email protected]#.
#word.characters.$(file.patterns.ahk)=$(chars.alpha)$(chars.numeric)$(chars.accented)[email protected]#
I still get the function/command tip popups which I do like. So I have assauged my dislike for the autocomplete popup listbox. Please don't take my dislike for that 1 feature to suggest that I don't like the editor. I think it's great and used it all the time in spite of that 1 caveat (for me).

I'll leave this request unsolved for a while in case there is a better more aboveboard solution. This solution will probably not survive an update.

Re: Turn off Autocomplete?

Posted: 09 May 2018, 09:23
by dmatch
Guess my solution will be considered an adequate resolution. Solved.