[issue] AHK_H won't start on Windows 10

Post AHK_H specific scripts & libraries and discuss the usage and development of HotKeyIt's fork/branch
norths1

[issue] AHK_H won't start on Windows 10

08 May 2019, 14:43

hey, i noticed that some Windows 10 users can't run any AHK_H scripts, even though they have VC++ and dotnet installed, but some of them can. does anybody know what the trouble is and how to solve it?

i've been ignoring that issue for a couple of years, but today i've been asked about that again and I decided to ask.
i don't expect someone to answer me, I'm just going to leave this here
norths1

Re: [issue] AHK_H won't start on Windows 10

08 May 2019, 16:37

They don't. After trying to launch a script, nothing happens, no messages show up, the process just terminates itself.
SOTE

09 May 2019, 05:49

norths1 wrote:
08 May 2019, 14:43
hey, i noticed that some Windows 10 users can't run any AHK_H scripts, even though they have VC++ and dotnet installed, but some of them can. does anybody know what the trouble is and how to solve it?

i've been ignoring that issue for a couple of years, but today i've been asked about that again and I decided to ask.
i don't expect someone to answer me, I'm just going to leave this here
I'm confused. Why does your AHK_H scripts need VC++ or dotnet (.NET) installed? AHK_H scripts can compile into executables (.exe) and run without additional programs.
norths1

09 May 2019, 09:22

SOTE wrote:
I'm confused. Why do AHK_H scripts need VC++ or dotnet (.NET) to be installed for you?
i'm not saying they do, idk what exactly prevents some people from being able to run an _H script, but the important thing here is that they can't get it to work, and i wanna figure out why.

SOTE wrote:
AHK_H scripts can be compiled into executables (.exe) and run without additional programs.
it's true about AHK_L, but AHK_H is a little unstable.

HotKeyIt wrote:
08 May 2019, 15:54
i think the problem might be in one of the anti-debugging techniques