Page 1 of 1

Global Variable Code Error

Posted: 26 May 2022, 13:55
by dgbt
I am using if WinExist() and I am getting an error saying
Warning: this variable has not been assigned a value
specifically: CabinetWClass (a global variable)

what am I doing wrong?

Code: Select all

#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
#Warn  ; Enable warnings to assist with detecting common errors.
;SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
;SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%  ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.
#singleinstance, force

SetTitleMatchMode, 2

if winexist(ahk_class CabinetWClass, "Work Orders")
{
	winclose
}
else
{
	run, "\\CCDTAFSW3P\DothanUtilities\ELECTRIC\JAMES CURTIS\Work Orders"
}

ExitApp
^#x::
ExitApp

Re: Global Variable Code Error

Posted: 26 May 2022, 14:23
by RussF

Re: Global Variable Code Error

Posted: 26 May 2022, 17:05
by dgbt
Gotcha. It's all supposed to be in quotes for the class... I'm new and there is just a lot of inconsistency with what needs quotes and what doesn't. Thanks for the help.

Re: Global Variable Code Error

Posted: 26 May 2022, 17:37
by boiler
dgbt wrote: I'm new and there is just a lot of inconsistency with what needs quotes and what doesn't.
That's typically the most confusing thing to those new to AHK. Study Expressions, Legacy Syntax, and Expressions vs Legacy Syntax.