US layout emulation for German keyboard not working

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
kim366
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 May 2016, 10:46

US layout emulation for German keyboard not working

30 May 2016, 10:48

Code: Select all

ß::SendRaw -
ß::SendRaw _
gives me the error
Error: Invalid Hotkey
What is the solution to rebind that sort of characters?

Thanks guys!
User avatar
lifeweaver
Posts: 144
Joined: 10 May 2014, 05:57
GitHub: lifeweaver
Location: OH

Re: US layout emulation for German keyboard not working

03 Jun 2016, 06:10

Hi kim366,

Have you tried the steps listed here?
lexikos
Posts: 6367
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: US layout emulation for German keyboard not working

03 Jun 2016, 19:30

If that character does not exist on your default keyboard layout (which is the keyboard layout that AutoHotkey will use for hotkeys), you will get the message "Note: The hotkey ß will not be active because it does not exist in the current keyboard layout." This is not an error message and will not stop the script from starting.

The error message "Invalid Hotkey" does not appear for single-character hotkeys. However, if you save the file in the wrong encoding, the character ß (encoded with two bytes) may be misinterpreted as two characters. This will not work on any keyboard layout.

The full message you get is probably this:
Error at line 1.

Line Text: ß::SendRaw -
Error: Invalid hotkey.

The program will exit.
See Script File Codepage.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bilbofraggings, FredOoo, gustavrsh, scriptors, TAC109 and 128 guests