Moving files from my work server to my work computer Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
stoews

Moving files from my work server to my work computer

07 Mar 2017, 15:32

Code: Select all


FileMove, D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER, I:\CAD DRAWINGS, 1

This works just fine, I can move stuff off my computer onto the server. But the second I try to read anything on the server can't do it.

Code: Select all


Filemove, ‪I:\Test, D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER, 1

This dose not.

I have been messing around with trying to make this works.

I have tried \\server\username\I:\Test but that hasn't worked, any ideas?

thanks in advance
4GForce
Posts: 553
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 03:18
GitHub: 4GForce

Re: Moving files from my work server to my work computer

07 Mar 2017, 19:16

stoews wrote:This works just fine, I can move stuff off my computer onto the server. But the second I try to read anything on the server can't do it.
Write only permissions ? Is that even a thing ?
Does it work when you try moving files with Windows File Explorer ?
Have you tried running script as admin ? ( I don't think that would change a thing since you're able to write but ... )
Unless its because you cant write to D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER ??
ShawnT
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 15:19

Re: Moving files from my work server to my work computer

07 Mar 2017, 20:32

From what I can tell I have read and write permissions. Messed around and made this work.

Code: Select all



Filemove, ‪\\epsi\plats\Test, D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER, 1

Now the next step, any idea why this path wouldn't work with FileGetTime?

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutPutVar, \\epsi\plats\Test

dosen't work, I'll start a different topic and start digging but would like your input.
4GForce
Posts: 553
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 03:18
GitHub: 4GForce

Re: Moving files from my work server to my work computer

07 Mar 2017, 21:06

ShawnT wrote:

Code: Select all

FileGetTime, OutPutVar, \\epsi\plats\Test
dosen't work,
I mean, 'doesn't work' is kinda vague. You could at least show the OutputVar value or an error message.
But yeah, you don't even specify a Filename ( you only state the path ) ... of course it doesn't work as intended.
FileGetTime, OutputVar [, Filename, WhichTime]
ShawnT
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 15:19

Re: Moving files from my work server to my work computer  Topic is solved

07 Mar 2017, 22:12

Sorry I rushed thru that last post.

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutputVar , D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER\123456.DWG
Msgbox %OutputVar% 

This works and returns the message box with the time/date.

Now taking from my last post I tried to replicate the same path thing that worked for FileMove.

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutputVar , \\epsi\plats\CADD FILES\123456.DWG
Msgbox %OutputVar% 

This one returns with an empty message box.

That clear? Sorry little new to this, seemed easy till i tried to these commands over the server.

Thanks for the help!

ShawnT
ShawnT
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Mar 2017, 15:19

Re: Moving files from my work server to my work computer

08 Mar 2017, 11:00

ShawnT wrote:Sorry I rushed thru that last post.

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutputVar , D:\CADD FILES COMPUTER\123456.DWG
Msgbox %OutputVar% 

This works and returns the message box with the time/date.

Now taking from my last post I tried to replicate the same path thing that worked for FileMove.

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutputVar , \\epsi\plats\CADD FILES\123456.DWG
Msgbox %OutputVar% 

This one returns with an empty message box.

That clear? Sorry little new to this, seemed easy till i tried to these commands over the server.

Thanks for the help!

ShawnT

Code: Select all


FileGetTime, OutputVar , I:\CADD FILES\123456.DWG
Msgbox %OutputVar% 

I should also note i tried to do this with the network drive letter and it still gave me a blank message box.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AHKStudent, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], scriptor2016 and 229 guests