General Question: Position Program-Windows on 3 Screens & 4 Desktops??

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
jwka

General Question: Position Program-Windows on 3 Screens & 4 Desktops??

29 Mar 2017, 12:59

Hi all,

I am a newbie to AHK - or I should better say I am a "considerer" - as I am thinking about choosing AHK over other tools (such as AutoIt), but before investing a lot of time finding out in the end that I cannot achieve what I want, I would like to ask a few questions here - sorry for a lengthy description:

My major motivation to use AHK is to arrange / re-arrange multiple program windows across 4 desktops (provided by DEXPOT) with 3 Monitors (--> 12 desktop areas)
I divide my work in themes: org & fun, programming, research, documentation & writing. This defines the four desktops. On either theme, I am using the three monitors to keep my workplace well arranged

I am using the 3 Monitors 4 desktops on a powerfull mobile workstation (Thinkpad P50), currently under Win7 and planned under Win 10 later. The machine is capable to run all that, but invoking the programs, positionning them (and keep them positionned) on the various working areas is a nightmare.

Therefor, I would like to have a (AHK-) script (or multiple scripts and some master-scripts, that can either be run all together or selctive) that:

- upon start , invokes and positions programs.
Positionning shall take place not only across the three monitors but also across the four desktops (that DEXPOT provides) (!!!)

- during work, it shall supply a means of "re-position" to the "original positions" as sometimes I re-arrange windows and would later want them to be in certain order again

especially when ...

- having disconnected one or two external monitors (the machine is a laptop and I have two 27" external monitors) and re-connecting, all open windows shall be re-positionned across the desktops and maonitors