Page 1 of 1

display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 06:48
by DanielToward13
I want to display a price rate on my notification area so that I can always monitor the price. How to display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area like those software which shows the network traffic, etc?

Something like this:
hqdefault.jpg
hqdefault.jpg (41.15 KiB) Viewed 3098 times

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 07:30
by BoBo

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 08:58
by DanielToward13
I get error in both versions

TT.ahk gives:

Code: Select all

TT-master\TT-master\TT.ahk (226) : ==> Call to nonexistent function.
Specifically: Struct(_RECT),T.P:=Struct(_TOOLINFO),P:=T.P,P.cbSize:=sizeof(_TOOLINFO),P.uFlags:=(HWND?0x1:0)|(Center?0x2:0)|(RTL?0x4:0)|(SUB?0x10:0)|(Track+1?(Track?0x20:0):0x20)|(Absolute?0x80:0)|(TRANSPARENT?0x100:0)|(ParseLinks?0x1000:0),P.hwnd:=Parent,P.uId:=Parent,P.lpszText[""]:=T.GetAddress("maintext")?T.GetAddress("maintext"):0,T.AddTool(P[])
TT.ahk v2 gives:

Code: Select all

TT-ahk-v2\TT-ahk-v2\TT.ahk (81) : ==> This line does not contain a recognized action.
     Specifically: LoopParse,%options%,%A_Space%,%A_Space%
is this for displaying on the taskbar or it creates a balloon message window near the tray icon? (I don't need the balloon, only taskbar/tray/clock area is needed)

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 09:25
by BoBo
Might be worth a look (for one of your supporters, as it contains the sourcecode) : https://hianz.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/ ... r-is-here/

As a workaround, I could think of creating/printing your text using Gdip+ to the screen/that area ??? ...

... stumbled over this one ... https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/5887 ... load-bars/

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 11:26
by DanielToward13
Thanks BoBo for your time.
Laszlo's script runs but nothing show up. Maybe because Windows 10 taskbar has changed and the DllCall could not modify it.

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 15:36
by BoBo
microtorrent135 wrote:Thanks BoBo for your time.
Laszlo's script runs but nothing show up. Maybe because Windows 10 taskbar has changed and the DllCall could not modify it.
It's working with Win7 and is simply a layer on top of the taskbar (but can be attached to other areas as well).
I'm currently looking for a "write-info-to-desktop-on-the-fly"(wallpaper?) kinda thing. Good luck to you 8-)

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 21 Sep 2017, 18:08
by lblb
One way may be to create a custom toolbar in Windows, then dock an AHK Gui to it. The example here works well on my Win 7 system:
https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/8972 ... s-taskbar/

As another more limited option, you can use gdip to update numbers on a system tray icon:
https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/2366 ... con/page-2

Re: display a number in notification/taskbar/clock area

Posted: 22 Sep 2017, 11:07
by dmatch
Probably not what you're looking for and is somewhat of a kludge, but you could create a blank Gui and change the title of the window as the price changes. That wouldn't be in the notification area but would be on taskbar button.

Code: Select all

Gui, Show, , *XX= ; Some unique name
SetTimer, Update, 2000 ; 2 sec. or your desired refresh rate
return

Update:
	i+=1 ; Could retrieve price information here
	WinSetTitle, *XX=, , *XX=%i%
return
GuiClose:
	ExitApp