RegEx to find variable dollar amount in a wall of text Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
carno

RegEx to find variable dollar amount in a wall of text  Topic is solved

11 Oct 2017, 15:13

I have the following sentence in a wall of text where I want to extract an embedded variable dollar amount (could be 1 to 3 digits) between [... done for] and [USD (excl. tax) but...], so in the following case this number should be [50]. What would be the most efficient way to achieve this using RegEx or other methods?

text
text
text
Based on past jobs we think we can get this job done for 50 USD (excl. tax) but we are not set on this as we also want ...
text
text
text
Last edited by carno on 11 Oct 2017, 16:13, edited 1 time in total.
magicinmath

Re: RegEx to find variable dollar amount in a wall of text

11 Oct 2017, 15:59

I'm just learning RegExMatch but this is what I figured out so far. Probably a more efficient way yet hopefully someone can school us both!

Code: Select all

note=
(
stuff here blah blahblhablhablah sklchsldkn klcnaslnk 2345 34 5 333
Based on past jobs we think we can get this job done for 5 USD (excl. tax) but we are not set on this as we also want ...
Based on past jobs we think we can get this job done for 20 USD (excl. tax) but we are not set on this as we also want ...
textBased on past jobs we think we can get this job done for 75 USD (excl. tax) but we are not set on this as we also want ...
textBased on past jobs we think we can get this job done for 500 USD (excl. tax) but we are not set on this as we also want ...
text
text
)

vars:=[]

a:=0
	while(a<strsplit(note).length()){
		++a

if(RegExMatch(note, "\d+", var,a)>a)
			a:=RegExMatch(note, "\d+ USD",var,a)
		if(strsplit(var).length()>4)                                      
			++a
		if(var)
			vars[vars.length()+1]:=strsplit(var," ")[1]
	}

for a, v in vars
		msgbox, %v%

return