Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

21 Mar 2019, 11:24

I am trying to retrieve the title of active tab's website in Chrome using selenium in ahk. The following codes were working fine until last 10-15 days but now they are not working and showing an error message.

My codes are these-

Code: Select all

driver := ChromeGet()
MsgBox % driver.window.Title
return
 
ChromeGet(IP_Port := "127.0.0.1:9222") {
 driver := ComObjCreate("Selenium.ChromeDriver")
 driver.SetCapability("debuggerAddress", IP_Port)
 driver.Start()  ; Here it is indicating some problem. But don't know what...
 return driver
}

When i run the above codes they pop up this error msgbox-
21_03_19 @9_44_15.PNG
21_03_19 @9_44_15.PNG (49.37 KiB) Viewed 994 times


My biggest surprise is that- these codes were working great till last few days, but now they are not working at all.
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
lvalkov
Posts: 39
Joined: 08 Mar 2019, 16:39

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

23 Mar 2019, 10:09

Download a version of chromedriver.exe matching your Chrome browser's version.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

26 Mar 2019, 09:39

lvalkov wrote:
23 Mar 2019, 10:09
Download a version of chromedriver.exe matching your Chrome browser's version.
Thanks dear valkov for your kind reply.

Sir, i am currently using this version of chrome-
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG
(15.59 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
I downloaded the chromedriver.exe from this site- https://sites.google.com/a/chromium.org/chromedriver/downloads
(as you can see in the red box in below image-)





after downloading chromedriver_win32.zip , i extracted chromedriver.exe into C:\Program Files\SeleniumBasic\
but still the problem persists. Please help. Thanks.
Attachments
26_03_19 @7_55_17.PNG
(79.77 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

27 Mar 2019, 10:57

lvalkov wrote:
26 Mar 2019, 14:43
What does the error message dialog say?

Dear lvalkov, i am getting this error msg-
27_03_19 @9_26_00.PNG
(41.33 KiB) Downloaded 41 times

Please help sir lvalkov...

Thanks a lot...
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
User avatar
lvalkov
Posts: 39
Joined: 08 Mar 2019, 16:39

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

27 Mar 2019, 17:27

I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

29 Mar 2019, 14:21

lvalkov wrote:
27 Mar 2019, 17:27
I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
Yes dear lvalkov it is --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222


lvalkov, I am using this version of chrome-
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG (15.59 KiB) Viewed 855 times

And i think that if i switch back to this version of chrome- 73.0.3683.68
and downloads the chrome drivers of 73.0.3683.68 from here-
30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG
30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG (68.52 KiB) Viewed 855 times
then, it may solve this problem, as earlier i was using 73.0.3683.68 version of chrome and it was working perfectly. Since it has updated to Version 74.0.3729.28, it has stopped working.

Could you please tell me how can i switch back to older version of chrome?

Please help lvalkov

Thanks a lot..
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:05

Sabestian Caine wrote:
29 Mar 2019, 14:21
lvalkov wrote:
27 Mar 2019, 17:27
I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
Yes dear lvalkov it is --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222


lvalkov, I am using this version of chrome-

26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG


And i think that if i switch back to this version of chrome- 73.0.3683.68
and downloads the chrome drivers of 73.0.3683.68 from here-

30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG

then, it may solve this problem, as earlier i was using 73.0.3683.68 version of chrome and it was working perfectly. Since it has updated to Version 74.0.3729.28, it has stopped working.

Could you please tell me how can i switch back to older version of chrome?

Please help lvalkov

Thanks a lot..

Can anyone help me out regarding this please......
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
YOU do what YOU want, but happens what HE wants.
YOU do what HE wants, will happen what YOU want.
gregster
Posts: 3389
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:28

Afaik, Google doesn't offer older Chrome versions (for security reasons, they say). That means, if you really want to downgrade, you will have to download it from some third-party website (at your own risk obviously).

But... if I look at the Google Chrome homepage and its release notes (https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/7679408/), it seems that version 73 from march 12, 2019 is still the latest stable release (I can confirm this with my 64 bit Chrome, it says that 73.0.3683.68 is still up-to-date).

It seems you installed a beta version (v74 is only available as beta - the same for 32-bit).
Well, then you should be lucky. I guess you could just uninstall that v74 beta you have and download the current stable release - then you should have v73 again.
swagfag
Posts: 3075
Joined: 11 Jan 2017, 17:59

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:53

my chrome also says v73 and up to date. v74 does seem to be a beta release. maybe u got 2 chromes installed which confuses selenium?

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArkuS, Bing [Bot], DMDComposer and 238 guests