Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 528
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

21 Mar 2019, 11:24

I am trying to retrieve the title of active tab's website in Chrome using selenium in ahk. The following codes were working fine until last 10-15 days but now they are not working and showing an error message.

My codes are these-

Code: Select all

driver := ChromeGet()
MsgBox % driver.window.Title
return
 
ChromeGet(IP_Port := "127.0.0.1:9222") {
 driver := ComObjCreate("Selenium.ChromeDriver")
 driver.SetCapability("debuggerAddress", IP_Port)
 driver.Start()  ; Here it is indicating some problem. But don't know what...
 return driver
}

When i run the above codes they pop up this error msgbox-
21_03_19 @9_44_15.PNG
21_03_19 @9_44_15.PNG (49.37 KiB) Viewed 2078 times


My biggest surprise is that- these codes were working great till last few days, but now they are not working at all.
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
User avatar
lvalkov
Posts: 58
Joined: 08 Mar 2019, 16:39

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

23 Mar 2019, 10:09

Download a version of chromedriver.exe matching your Chrome browser's version.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 528
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

26 Mar 2019, 09:39

lvalkov wrote:
23 Mar 2019, 10:09
Download a version of chromedriver.exe matching your Chrome browser's version.
Thanks dear valkov for your kind reply.

Sir, i am currently using this version of chrome-
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG
(15.59 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
I downloaded the chromedriver.exe from this site- https://sites.google.com/a/chromium.org/chromedriver/downloads
(as you can see in the red box in below image-)





after downloading chromedriver_win32.zip , i extracted chromedriver.exe into C:\Program Files\SeleniumBasic\
but still the problem persists. Please help. Thanks.
Attachments
26_03_19 @7_55_17.PNG
(79.77 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 528
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

27 Mar 2019, 10:57

lvalkov wrote:
26 Mar 2019, 14:43
What does the error message dialog say?

Dear lvalkov, i am getting this error msg-
27_03_19 @9_26_00.PNG
(41.33 KiB) Downloaded 41 times

Please help sir lvalkov...

Thanks a lot...
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
User avatar
lvalkov
Posts: 58
Joined: 08 Mar 2019, 16:39

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

27 Mar 2019, 17:27

I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 528
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

29 Mar 2019, 14:21

lvalkov wrote:
27 Mar 2019, 17:27
I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
Yes dear lvalkov it is --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222


lvalkov, I am using this version of chrome-
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG
26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG (15.59 KiB) Viewed 1939 times

And i think that if i switch back to this version of chrome- 73.0.3683.68
and downloads the chrome drivers of 73.0.3683.68 from here-
30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG
30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG (68.52 KiB) Viewed 1939 times
then, it may solve this problem, as earlier i was using 73.0.3683.68 version of chrome and it was working perfectly. Since it has updated to Version 74.0.3729.28, it has stopped working.

Could you please tell me how can i switch back to older version of chrome?

Please help lvalkov

Thanks a lot..
User avatar
Sabestian Caine
Posts: 528
Joined: 12 Apr 2015, 03:53

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:05

Sabestian Caine wrote:
29 Mar 2019, 14:21
lvalkov wrote:
27 Mar 2019, 17:27
I don't know what might be causing this. Is the instance of Chrome that you're attempting to attach to being run with the --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222?
Yes dear lvalkov it is --remote-debugging-port flag set to 9222


lvalkov, I am using this version of chrome-

26_03_19 @7_58_58.PNG


And i think that if i switch back to this version of chrome- 73.0.3683.68
and downloads the chrome drivers of 73.0.3683.68 from here-

30_03_19 @12_46_55.PNG

then, it may solve this problem, as earlier i was using 73.0.3683.68 version of chrome and it was working perfectly. Since it has updated to Version 74.0.3729.28, it has stopped working.

Could you please tell me how can i switch back to older version of chrome?

Please help lvalkov

Thanks a lot..

Can anyone help me out regarding this please......
I don't normally code as I don't code normally.
gregster
Posts: 9012
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:28

Afaik, Google doesn't offer older Chrome versions (for security reasons, they say). That means, if you really want to downgrade, you will have to download it from some third-party website (at your own risk obviously).

But... if I look at the Google Chrome homepage and its release notes (https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/7679408/), it seems that version 73 from march 12, 2019 is still the latest stable release (I can confirm this with my 64 bit Chrome, it says that 73.0.3683.68 is still up-to-date).

It seems you installed a beta version (v74 is only available as beta - the same for 32-bit).
Well, then you should be lucky. I guess you could just uninstall that v74 beta you have and download the current stable release - then you should have v73 again.
swagfag
Posts: 6222
Joined: 11 Jan 2017, 17:59

Re: Chrome automation: codes were working fine till last few days but now throwing error. Help needed Please.

02 Apr 2019, 13:53

my chrome also says v73 and up to date. v74 does seem to be a beta release. maybe u got 2 chromes installed which confuses selenium?

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: OrangeCat, pgeugene, sanmaodo, zerox and 293 guests