Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
pureby
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jun 2019, 14:07

Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

08 Jun 2019, 14:15

Hello friends, I just upgraded from Windows 10 1803 to 1903 and it broke a very simple hotkey for me.

Code: Select all

^!+t::
SendInput, #{Tab}
Return
Idea is that hitting CtrlAltShiftT sends Tab (opens TaskView screen in Windows).
This simple script worked flawlessly for years. Now, TaskView briefly opens and disappears (or sometimes stays on) and new "Office" app from Windows is launched.

What's really strange is that if I exit AHK, nothing at all happens when I hit CtrlAltShiftT.

Any help?
pureby
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jun 2019, 14:07

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

09 Jun 2019, 10:54

I experimented a little and here are my findings:

  • Most shortcuts involving Ctrl+Alt have weird issues on my recently upgraded Windows 10 1903.
  • ^!+t::{a} works as intended (sends "a" every time without issues)
  • The issue can be resolved by adding 250 ms wait function before sending #{Tab}

    Code: Select all

    ^!+t::
    Sleep, 250
    SendInput, #{Tab}
    Return
    However, that still produces issues when firing the shortcut in rapid sequence.
  • Replacing ^!+t shortcut with any other not containing CtrlAlt modifyers seems to work nicely (I have currently settled on +^k)
I guess this should be moved to bug reports forum now?
aifritz
Posts: 140
Joined: 29 Jul 2018, 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

10 Jun 2019, 03:01

Have a look at the keywait command.

You could define the keywait for all keys, which trigger your Hotkey and then you don't need the sleep command any longer.
ciantic
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Oct 2015, 15:39
GitHub: Ciantic

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

19 Jun 2019, 15:52

I'm also getting the pesky office dialog right after updating to Windows 1903.

Instead of hacky Sleeps or KeyWaits we should find a way to disable the underlying Office hotkey, it will cause a lot of problems for others too.

EDIT This happens without AHK too:

Just Hold:
Win+Ctrl+Alt+Shift

Then Release.

It opens the damn Office thing!

Update: I think this is worthy of a bug report, this will cause a lot of issues for other people too, it needs a AHK specific fix that will ignore the Office hotkey. https://www.autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=65573
joefiesta
Posts: 274
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 13:54
Location: Pa., USA

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

20 Jun 2019, 10:12

there is no reason why this would qualify as a bug. AHK has nothing to do with CREATING the problem.

Wonderful Microsoft. Of course, they didn't document this (or did they? ha ha). If it ain't broke, don't fix it. (If it ain't broke, don't update it--that's my take.) So, I'm running Win7 til the day I die... well, hopefully.
lexikos
Posts: 6483
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

21 Jun 2019, 03:16

It doesn't just open the Office app. It also installs the Office app if you've previously uninstalled it, as I have repeatedly.

Edit: I submitted feedback on the Windows Feedback Hub, titled "Pressing Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Win installs and opens the Office app. It should not." I suggest upvoting it, if you can find it.

Edit: I have completely removed the Office app, now Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Win opens the Office website. :facepalm:
tmplinshi
Posts: 1484
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

21 Jun 2019, 07:38

Try:

Code: Select all

^!+t::ComObjCreate("Shell.Application").WindowSwitcher()
lexikos
Posts: 6483
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

21 Jun 2019, 20:32

It turns out the Office hotkey can be suppressed the same way that we suppress the Start menu.
saskguy310
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Aug 2019, 11:16

Re: Simple shortcut broken after Windows 10 upgrade

13 Aug 2019, 11:20

I had some very simple scripts to enter some standard data. All of a sudden (after Windows 10 update), the data wasn't entering correctly. For example, I had Send, 123456789 but it would key in 213456789.
I ended up sending each one separately.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DannyhelMont, Google [Bot] and 139 guests