Unicode displayed as question marks Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 219
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

Unicode displayed as question marks

05 Oct 2019, 07:09

On a new (actually, refurbished) computer running Win 10 Professional, I have several fundamental problems.

#2: Unicode displayed as question marks. Now f and g in the following, which got displayed nicely on my old box, just give me question marks:

Code: Select all

#Hotstring * ?
::f::ф
g::Send г
d::Send {U+0434}
Esc::ExitApp
The d key still gives the correct result, though, which indicates AutoHotkey.exe may have a problem reading the file. The file was encoded in UTF-8-BOM, but changing the file format (with Notepad) either gives the same or mojibake.
red_sun
Posts: 19
Joined: 12 Jul 2019, 05:22

Re: Unicode displayed as question marks

06 Oct 2019, 02:48

It works for me , does it display the correct character in a message box ?

Code: Select all

msgbox г  ф

#Hotstring * ?
::f::ф
g::Send г
d::Send {U+0434}
Esc::ExitApp
User avatar
jeeswg
Posts: 6902
Joined: 19 Dec 2016, 01:58
Location: UK

Re: Unicode displayed as question marks

06 Oct 2019, 03:04

Do you have a 'UTF-8 with BOM' option? I would try that.

More details:
Notepad and UTF-8 - AutoHotkey Community
https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=67763
Windows 10 Notepad is Getting Better UTF-8 Encoding Support
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/microsoft/windows-10-notepad-is-getting-better-utf-8-encoding-support/
homepage | tutorials | wish list | fun threads | donate
WARNING: copy your posts/messages before hitting Submit as you may lose them due to CAPTCHA
User avatar
Micromegas
Posts: 219
Joined: 28 Apr 2015, 23:02
Location: Germany

Re: Unicode displayed as question marks  Topic is solved

06 Oct 2019, 05:51

Thanks for your answers. I found the problem: AHK was installed as the ANSI version. (See https://www.autohotkey.com/docs/Program.htm#install) Running the file with the Unicode version of AHK fixes the issue.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2ndprotocol, Bing [Bot], boiler, frosse, Frosti and 47 guests