How can I remove data from the compiled exe? Topic is solved

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v1.1 and older) and its commands and hotkeys
User avatar
SirSocks
Posts: 360
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 08:14

How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 08:30

Hello -

I made a script and compiled it using Ahk2Exe. If I open the exe in notepad and scroll to the very bottom I see the following data.
Is there any way for me to remove the "AutoHotKey" text from this data?

Thank you,
All help is appreciated.

Image
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16903
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 08:35

You can try editing it with a hex editor like HxD (available for free). I would just replace those characters with another string of letters of the same length.
User avatar
SirSocks
Posts: 360
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 08:14

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 08:39

Thanks @boiler I'll give that a try.
User avatar
JoeWinograd
Posts: 2198
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 20:00
Location: U.S. Central Time Zone

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?  Topic is solved

04 Feb 2020, 13:36

Another idea is to use the updated compiler with its new directives:

Upcoming Ahk2Exe Changes (2019)

For example:

Code: Select all

;@Ahk2Exe-SetName MyProgramName
;@Ahk2Exe-SetDescription MyProgramName(tm)
;@Ahk2Exe-SetVersion 2.14
;@Ahk2Exe-SetOrigFilename MyProgramName.exe
;@Ahk2Exe-SetCompanyName MyCompanyName Inc
;@Ahk2Exe-SetCopyright (c) 2010-2020 MyCompanyName Inc
;@Ahk2Exe-SetLegalTrademarks MyProgramName(tm) of MyCompanyName Inc
;@Ahk2Exe-UpdateManifest 0,MyProgramName,2.14.0.0
Regards, Joe
User avatar
boiler
Posts: 16903
Joined: 21 Dec 2014, 02:44

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 13:54

Even better. I wasn't aware of those changes. I'll follow that thread more closely. :)
User avatar
SirSocks
Posts: 360
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 08:14

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 14:34

Thank you very much @JoeWinograd and @boiler. I'll try using those directives.
TAC109
Posts: 1111
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 19:41
Location: New Zealand

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 15:31

Further to the replies up-thread, the particular Compiler Directive you need for the change you requested in your first post is ;@Ahk2Exe-UpdateManifest.
My scripts:-
XRef - Produces Cross Reference lists for scripts
ReClip - A Text Reformatting and Clip Management utility
ScriptGuard - Protects Compiled Scripts from Decompilation
I also maintain Ahk2Exe
User avatar
SirSocks
Posts: 360
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 08:14

Re: How can I remove data from the compiled exe?

04 Feb 2020, 16:12

Thanks for the exact directive @TAC109 ;@Ahk2Exe-UpdateManifest

Return to “Ask for Help (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Descolada, mmflume, NullRefEx, scriptor2016, ShatterCoder and 169 guests